What is the roll of a teacher? (programming class)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chad711

Daemon Poster
This is some what of a rant. I'm getting a little frustrated with one of my programming classes instructor. Let me give you some details.

I have zero programming experience. Before I signed up for these "Intro" classes I asked both teacher if these classes are for people with zero experience. They both said I would be fine. (Java and C#).

For the first 5 assignments or so it was some what straight forward. Read this chapter and that chapter and do the assignment. The assignment always used info you read in those chapters and previous chapters. It was a struggle for me but I eventually figured it out. 100% on all assignments so far (very simple stuff).

I of course had questions every single time for both classes for each assignment. In the Java class the teacher ALWAYS would answer my question or give me code snippets to help me out. It did help me and I was able to understand better.

In my C# class my teacher never gives me snippets of code and he never really answers my questions. His idea of thinking is I need to research it or figure it out through "Logic". His words: "as a programmer this is things you will have to do, think it through and write it out in code"

Well I am not a programmer, I am a student trying to learn. I am very frustrated with my C# teacher. I'm sorry but if I have zero programming experience then I am not going to know how to code something if I haven't read about it in the chapters. Here is where the problem started.

He gave us a program assignment we build from the ground up. No starting code or even pseudocode to start with. The program also used certain things on a form and statements that I have not one clue about, never was it a reading assignment and he just wants us to work it out. If I ask a question his answer is so vague it's almost like he didn't answer my question.