What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2008, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

I sent a mail in rebate, not knowing I was moving to another apartment....

So what Do I do? WIll my rebate money just have to go to the trash?

I haven't even received a confirmation or anything.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,581
Default Re: What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

Notify the new tenants (if there are any) that something will be coming in a few months.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

If you fill out a change of address form at the post office you can set up automatic forwarding. This should be covered.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

Yes I did the post office address change, but I think that only applies if they send it though USPS, and not sure if they'll will do that.....
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

If it's just a rebate check I don't see why they wouldn't. Every rebate check I've gotten has been USPS for what it's worth.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

Ya they wouldn't fedex a rebate check - they will use the postal office and with a change of address form they'll forward your mail for up to a month or two.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 02:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
NEEDS MORE DAKKA!!!
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: What do you do when you mail a rebate, and change address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric0h View Post
I sent a mail in rebate, not knowing I was moving to another apartment....

So what Do I do? WIll my rebate money just have to go to the trash?

I haven't even received a confirmation or anything.
Contact your postal service and get a mail direction put on.

I have moved a few time now, and every time i have moved, I told the post office to redirect all post with my name on it to my new address.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
HP zBook 14 - Intel Core i7 4600U (2.1 - 2.7 GHz), 16GB, 512GB SSD, 14" Display, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 8+Console : Play Station 4 Pro
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.