wedding photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

uzi9mm

Fully Optimized
I have been commissioned to photograph a wedding event......
I would of personally preferred to do video, but they want PHOTOS

I would say i am an alright photographer... I am not a retard but I am no Switch either.

The wedding is outside......
I have a d40 w/ standard 18-55mm lens with onboard flash
A tripod
And a 2gb Ultra SD card.....

What else would I need?
RAW or JPEG FINE?
Also anyone with wedding photography sessions under their belt give me any pointers?

first of all, shoot in RAW

second, take as many "non-posing" pictures as possible. these produce the most genuine expressions and emotions. only use the flash if ABSOLUTELY necessary. realistic colors, shadows, skin tones will make for some gorgeous photos.

but mostly, like i said, try to catch "moments" and don't push yourself into situations to get the shot. the best wedding pictures i have seen have been real and fun.

also, consider getting a higher-capacity memory card so you can shoot and shoot and shoot. the more pictures you take, the likelier you will come up with good shots

Go ahead and make yourself a sandwich or a cup of coffee. I practically wrote a book.

That's great that people are interested in your work and want to hire you for it!

But to tell you the truth, you should have declined the offer and said that they need to hire a professional, ESPECIALLY if the client is going to be a friend or family.

A wedding is a once in a lifetime event (sometimes :p), Do you really think you can do it justice? I sure can't. I've never shot a wedding, but have had many people ask me to do it, and every time I do it i tell them they need to hire a pro that knows what they're doing. I'm a street/landscape/studio product photographer.