Underage Business

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prototype

Daemon Poster
Hi. Some members of Tech-Forums and me are planning to sell custom built desktop to get some money for an overclocking team. We would like to know if we can do it and what we need? We are currently underage. Do we need to go to somewhere or talk to someone? We are planning on starting with a free website to show the builds. When we get some money out of it, we will buy a domain.

Have you done a business plan? As any marketing person will tell you "If you fail to plan, you plan to fail"

Also, put yourself if your customer's shoes. Would you purchase a computer from a computer company that has the url of Yahoo/Geocities ?
Do you have a advertising budget? Where else are you planning to advertise. I have been selling computers for nearly 10 years now. The bulk of my sales are from my newspaper and phone directory listings.
Also why would some one what to purchase a computer from you as appose to the next person. And don't give me that line of "We are going to sell cheaper that XYZ Computer shop/Mass merchant" as there is extremely little margin in just selling computer hardware. Keep in mind, you need to make it worth your while. Like I refuse to sell a computer for any than $100 mark up. And even there, when i do the maths of my time to order in parts, petrol to pick up parts, my time to build the computer and then having to hope and pray that the computer does not fall over in the next 12 months as I still have to honor a warranty.... it's not worth it.

Also, where are going to get your parts from? Do you have any wholesaler's accounts? Or do you think that your local computer shop is gladly going ot sell parts over to you at a discount price?

Warranty proceedures? What are you going to do when some thing goes wrong with your clients hardware?

Logitics? How are you getting your parts / computer systems to your customers?

Public Liability Insurance? Do you even know that that is?