Trying to drop some weight

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm somewhat in the same boat. I was 160 back when i was a freshman in college, but i rode my bike everyday or had speedskating practice and spent like 5-6 hours trailriding on the weekends. then i moved to a college town and lost 20 pounds of muscle, now i'm up to 185 and its not the same weight. Mine is mostly apathy, i'm just too lazy to go workout anymore. Need to get back into the habit. But i have cut out all red meat, i only eat ground turkey and chicken breasts and drink tons of water. Trying to cut back on my rum too, which i know is a huge part of my weight because it tends to make me eat later than i really should.

I hardly agree with that at all. You're completely disregarding the grotesque amounts of carbohydrates being eaten in the form of white bread, candy, chocolate, sodas, potatoes, pasta, etc.

I wish I could point to some statistics, but it's just a matter of observation, 90% of the food on a North American table is carbohydrates. they might eat a lot of meat too, but not nearly as much carbohydrates... sure, they lead in the world in meat consumption, but I think that's just because they eat too much of everything in general, if you looked at carbohydrate consumption, I'm sure you'd see much more startling numbers in comparison to the rest of the world

plus, the meat that north americans tend to eat en mass comes in the form of greasy fast food and not lean cuts of meat, I just find it strange that you seem to be implying that an excess amount of protein consumption is what is causing obesity in the United States

I'm not disregarding anything, I said number one, not only. Protein is, statistically, the nutrient putting us the most apart from the world and excess protein is stored as fat.

I'm not disregarding anything, I said number one, not only. Protein is, statistically, the nutrient putting us the most apart from the world and excess protein is stored as fat.