Think your iPods high quality ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
What about Intel and their Extreme series processors? 1 change during fabrication doesn't warrant close to a $1000 price jump in my eyes. Console's don't cost as much as they retail for to manufacture, xbox dropped in price a lot and they still make money off of it. Windows based PC's don't sell for profit, they get money off of the accessories and upgrades and the advertising profits they get from bloatware on the system. Why should mac be singled out for making profits on a product, when it's been pointed out in the past that intel is a solid business because they make money on their stuff such as the 32-bit licensing? Business is business, and if you can make money then great, why should they be condemned for a good business model?

I will admit betting on consumer ignorance is a good business model but that doesn't mean I should worship apple because of it.

I work in retail and each ipod we sell it only makes the store like $10 AUD. This is on a $300 touch. Apple takes every cent of it.

I work in retail and each ipod we sell it only makes the store like $10 AUD. This is on a $300 touch. Apple takes every cent of it.

If that. At circuit city we took maybe like $5 USD off of it. But that's no different than a Sony TV or HP laptop. Most if not all big name consumer electronics are like that in consumer stores. If you look at the mark up though on lets say HDMI cables, you can get a monster cable from your store for close to $100 USD, or if you pay employee pricing (at circuit it was cost + 5%) we paid more like $40 USD. There is some worth that a monster HDMI cable is better than a Joe Schmo brand HDMI cable, but there's a huge mark up on it, purely because people want the deal on the big name item, not the accessories, which is where they make profits from.

I will admit betting on consumer ignorance is a good business model but that doesn't mean I should worship apple because of it.