Simple gadget?

Aggie32

Beta member
I am trying to make a gadget that will be able to receive code wirelessly and make the code into text on a small 3 inch screen. What all do I need to achieve this? Is it possible to make an app that can transmit signals via wifi or bluetooth to this three inch screen? What all components do I need for the screen to change the signal to text? I have very little experience dealing with all of this.

What kind of display is your 3 inch screen exactly? Is it already an existing piece of hardware that you have hooked up, and you just need an interface for it?

Raspberry Pi may be a good start.

I want to make it all from scratch but I have thought it might be easier to use an old phone somehow.. But is it possible to set up a connection between a iPad and this device without internet.

Not an ipad as it is an apple product and I don't think that even if you pay $99 USD to become a developer, you still wont be able to access bluetooth/wlan

I want to make it all from scratch but I have thought it might be easier to use an old phone somehow.. But is it possible to set up a connection between a iPad and this device without internet.
Possible? Sure. But to do anything with iOS development, you'll need a Mac + XCode and learn Swift. Android would be objectively cheaper if you wanted your "send" device to be a phone with an app, as Android devices can be gotten for quite cheap, and the programming language is free - you also don't need to sign up for the store or anything like that unless you plan to distribute it.

What exactly is your goal?

Not an ipad as it is an apple product and I don't think that even if you pay $99 USD to become a developer, you still wont be able to access bluetooth/wlan

wat