Should I join the Navy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SPL Tech

In Runtime
I am currently a car audio installer, and I love it. However car audio does not pay very good. So I sat down for a long time and tried to think of how to get experience and education in another field when I thought of the military. I never have looked into the military until now, however it appears their training is top notch and they pay for 100% of college and you can get a guaranteed military job in your field of specialty after you finish schooling. So I think I would like to give it a try. I have to finish a few things yet but it looks like I will qualify for almost any job in the military that is of interest to me.

So I am looking at going into Information Technology (IT) and working as an IT systems administrator or something similar. But I guess my question to you is what branch is the best bet for me? I have received what the Army, Navy, Marines, and Air Force has to offer and narrowed my choices down a bit. At the moment I am most interested in the Navy and Army. I am currently leaning towards the Navy for it appears they have more advanced technology then the Army in reference to computers. So what does everyone think? Would the Navy be a good option? Anyone have any personal experiences? I have been told by many that the Army does not treat their solders the best which is why I am leaning more towards the Navy. Anyone know if this true?

My dad was in the navy for 27 years and had a blast. You can gain alot from the armed forces, and as far as army and navy goes, how many ships have we lost in the current wars?

Why are you asking people on an internet forum? This is something you ought to figure out yourself, not to be taken lightly. I would ask people you personally know, your family might not want you to go like most families, but hopefully they will be support full.