Real Dell tech support call. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2006, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Real Dell tech support call.

Oh man this one is good. The man has a point, but he should have known what to do in the first place.

NSFW because of very strong language. lol

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/2006/10/d...port-call.html
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Yes, language. I agree...

Is Dell really that hard to deal with? Out here, you just call Dell and they say "Let us redirect you to a certified Dell Service Outlet", and they just tell you the phone number of a local computer shop.

Support for a Dell? What a joke! Also, what's the first thing you see when you open a Dell box? The mousepad that says "service.dell.com".

What does that mean? After hearing that, Dell doesn't service their computers.
On a positive note; the guy didn't sound oriental. It's nice to see American people giving tech support.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Haha that was pretty funny.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Yes, language. I agree...

Is Dell really that hard to deal with? Out here, you just call Dell and they say "Let us redirect you to a certified Dell Service Outlet", and they just tell you the phone number of a local computer shop.

Support for a Dell? What a joke! Also, what's the first thing you see when you open a Dell box? The mousepad that says "service.dell.com".

What does that mean? After hearing that, Dell doesn't service their computers.
On a positive note; the guy didn't sound oriental. It's nice to see American people giving tech support.
I've talked to Dell tech support about my laptop once when I wanted to get a replacement LCD because of the light leak problem they were having. I just chat with them because I know they want all that stupid info just to make sure you aren't just some schmuck trying to get free tech support or something. It's easier for me to type that **** in instead of tell them over the phone.

The thing that got me was the tech support told him that you don't ever want to take the battery out of the running computer. Why? That's no different than holding down the power button. They are both cutting power.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

THAT WAS ****ING HALARIOUS!!! isnt that in the manual, if it dont shut off, hold the button, plus its common sence. least it isnt as bad as geek squad...called them once(display card prob) and they sayd everything but check the power cable for it. that was before i found this site, i say ask people online before calling tech support
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 03:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Yeah dell is just about that bad, I was in a good mood when I called, except I got amit and 3 other foreign people. They will not tell you anything til they get all that crap even if you push (i did, but was nice). feel sorry for the support ppl thou, it isn't their fault.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 07:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

See, that's the type of idiot that this world can do without. First of all, those questions are standard questions that they need to log into their system to verify that it isn't some retard trying to pull their chain and waste their time. Tech Support is very expensive and they need a verification system.

Secondly, that idiot was mad because of his blatant inability to shut down a laptop. It had nothing to do with Dell or the Laptop itself, it was just his pure ignorance that fueled his fire.

I give that tech support guy a lot of credit for keeping his cool and handling that call with professionalism.

Quote:
Originally posted by OpticalIllusion
The thing that got me was the tech support told him that you don't ever want to take the battery out of the running computer. Why? That's no different than holding down the power button. They are both cutting power.
If the power brick is unplugged then the battery is the only thing powering the notebook. And at that point, the notebooks components were still being powered and running. It's not a good idea to just rip the battery out of a notebook that doesn't have another power source to shut it down.

Why don't you try pulling the main PSU cord from the back of your desktop while it running? Would you ever do that? Most peo[le would tell you it's not a smart thing...

Well same idea applies here.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 03:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
If the power brick is unplugged then the battery is the only thing powering the notebook. And at that point, the notebooks components were still being powered and running. It's not a good idea to just rip the battery out of a notebook that doesn't have another power source to shut it down.

Why don't you try pulling the main PSU cord from the back of your desktop while it running? Would you ever do that? Most peo[le would tell you it's not a smart thing...

Well same idea applies here.
Holding down the power button does the same thing. They both cut power instantly.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 09:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OpticalIllusion
Holding down the power button does the same thing. They both cut power instantly.
No it's not the same thing. If you hold down the "SOFT POWER BUTTON" on a desktop or notebook, once it shuts off, the motherboard still has power.

If you yank the battery out without the power brink plugged into the laptop, your cutting the power to the motherboard instantly.

Same thing applies to ATX motherboards on desktops. If I were to hold the soft power button down right now while my PC is running, And it shuts off, If I look into my case at my motherboard, the light is still on because the motherboard still has power.

But, if I were to pull the plug out of the power supply when it's running, it would obviously shut down, but there would be NO POWER at all in the motherboard.

That's the difference i'm talking about.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 09:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
But, if I were to pull the plug out of the power supply when it's running, it would obviously shut down, but there would be NO POWER at all in the motherboard.

That's the difference i'm talking about.


Gah I did a similar thing, and it totally killed all the data on my hard drive...and Im sure it wouldnt have happened if I had pressed the boutton and held it, except the hitting the power breakers switch was a total accident

But yes havok you make excellent points.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.