Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2010, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance

Whoot!
All systems powered down perfectly for the extended power outage we are having here.
First time it happened "in production".

I just love it when things come together.
Though...I still don't have power and only about 2 min left on my UPS...
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance

Nice.

Question: can your UPSs bring the servers back up when power is restored?
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance

The UPS's (and some systems can do it themselves) however we prefer to do it manually, just that extra precaution I guess. We'll take some extra time before powering them on, just to make sure the power is stable. We can afford to keep them off for 'x' amount of minutes when the power is restored. I mean, if we HAD to be up and running, we would have the power systems to keep us going in the first place aka natural gas (which my boss and I reeeeeeally want, but the owners just laugh at us hahahaha)
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,988
Default Re: Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance

They wouldn't laugh if power was lost for days and you had to have those systems online. I know of several places, big and small that had no backup generators that depended upon 24/7 uptime, needless to say after an ice storm or two, and in some areas, with power outages lasting well over a month, a lot ordered some rather hefty backup generators that can run on natural gas, and diesel, depending upon the situation.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance

Heh, ya I know what you mean.
Stupid thing was, our 2 other divisions down the road 20km (both in the same building) still had power but couldn't access our 400 or corporate drives cause they were shut off. So we basically brought down the whole company. Yay! Mind you, there are procedures in place if the system isn't available for any reason, but still...
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,587
Default Re: Power Outage - First Realtime Occurance

Sounds a lot like the company I used to work for. Their data canter (singular) was in Minnesota and was subject to losing power in winter for some reason. Anyway, when they went down the whole company went down. And this is a HUGE company with a global presence in several marketplaces. Oh, and their main hub was in Ohio... same thing.

To this day I cannot fathom why int eh world they set things up like that. No redundancy whatsoever.
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / Zotac GTX 1660 AMP
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus / Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD
WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / 2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer DeathAdder Elite / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power outage Fried MOBO and PSU siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-04-2010 01:15 PM
Booting after power outage J_P_6_9 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 02-14-2007 10:59 PM
Computer won't start after power outage RevCor632 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 09-16-2005 09:17 AM
one time occurance ohGrFreak Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-21-2005 08:49 AM
Installing Win Xp and power outage. PC_Penguin Microsoft Windows and Software 4 09-23-2004 09:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.