Ok, so I've got the car, now what audio upgrades?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NightSurge

Fully Optimized
Being as that I am a complete car audio noob, I was wondering if everyone on here could recommend a good $500 system that I could buy? I would have it installed somewhere near myself, and if anyone knows of any reputable brands or who to avoid, that would be helpful.

Basically, my first priority is to add some bass. Nothing over the top like 1200W subwoofers, but just enough to about double the stock subs performance. Also, the speaker quality isn't the greatest, so if you could recommend a 4 speaker set, plus amp and subwoofer(s) that would be the best quality for my budget? I would like to keep installation in that $500 budget, but then I'm afraid I'd be getting nothing, so $500 for parts and I'll assume installation is probably another $50-200???

So basically recommend:

A set of subwoofer, amp, and enclosure only.

or

A set of 4 speakers, subwoofer, amp, and enclosure.

or

A set of 2 subwoofers, amp, and enclosure.

Whatever fits my budget and would sound the best. Preferably keep it under $500 or as cheap as you can without sacrificing quality. Again, I'm a COMPLETE noob here when it comes to car audio, so basically I'm guessing to even get a good 10" sub and a good Amp will be hitting the $500 mark?

MAIN PRIORITY! - Single Amp, single sub, single enclosure for under $500. <<<--Focus on that.

All my car has right now is a fosgate 100 with a single 12" sub. Wouldnt have been my first choice but it was already in the car when i bought it and i didnt feel like screwing with it. Does the car still have the stock head unit? If so i would suggest replacing that and getting some decent speakers and just pick up a sub/amp later.

You mean in case I wreck or the car gets broken into so I can get my money back on the audio equipment?