lcd monitor ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2006, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default lcd monitor ?

Can my friend use this monitor on my pc to play games while I am playing games on my monitor?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...638148&CatId=0
__________________

__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

somebody has to have an answer to that question
__________________

__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default

Try and clarify that question. I think you're asking that you and a friend would like to play a game at the same time one one computer?
That monitor looks like it was designed for office applications, as intense gaming uses up almost all of the system resources for just one user, much less two.
__________________
sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you would have to have a video card with dual-monitor inputs. Also, you would need to have two gaming controllers.
__________________
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I do have 2 gaming controllers. what do you mean a video card with dual monitor inputs?
__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

im talking about a video card with 2 monitor inputs, here is an example on Ebay

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Matrox-Millennium...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 04:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

yeah i do.

But will it be like the other guys said? Not good for video games.
__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 04:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

it says it can handle that except for 3d games and apps.

Is counter strike source a 3d game?
__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

counterstrike is a 3d game yes

this is nothing new, thin clients have been around a very very long time, but windows isnt a multiuser system so they have to work around that too........what they are doing is an easy to setup deal in linux, you can use one PC as a host for multiple X sessions and apps across a network very easily, ive done it before

you cant use windows as a host for multiple independent 3D games, and it wont work well with 2D apps either, it isnt a multiuser system.........its HUGE security risk as well because of it
__________________

__________________
horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.