I need a guitar

Status
Not open for further replies.

gaara

Fully Optimized
I want a guitar to call my own, I've been playing bass for about three years now and have been experimenting with guitar for about a year and a half, and now I want to move from experimenting to actually playing.

I've looked into guitars a little bit recently and have asked around with people I know, but want as many different opinions as possible as I don't wanna screw up this decision. I've been playing using a Fender Squier Jazz Bass for all three years now and for the most part my music is influenced by:

Alexisonfire
Sublime
Rise Against
Protest the Hero
Rage Against the Machine
Thrice
Suicide Machines
Iron Maiden
AFI
Operation Ivy
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
NOFX

Mainly looking on a guitar, however I'll also probably be looking for a decent sized amp for a replacement and probably also a fairly decent pedal in the near future so shoot out any ideas. I know all of the basic chords and am looking for a fairly high quality guitar, but not anything TOO expensive unfortunetely (eg sub thousands, probably even as low as high $700s+)

Hello,
I've played guitar for a solid three years and have recently switched over to bass. For guitars... The Best advice I can give you is to go down to your local sam ash / guitar center/ local shop and try out as many guitars as you can. However, here are a few guitars that I prefer to play and you might want to look into:

Fender Mexican Telecaster - If you play through all the mex's a store has you can normally find a really good one. However beware, there are some **** mex tele's, so make sure you play these before buying.

Fender American Telecaster - If you want to spend the money, this is a very nice axe to play and would seem to fit into your playing styles.

Ibanez Sz520 - The axe that I currently play. Its geared more towards metal and heavier licks, but is a very well built instrument. The neck is awesome on this beast and plays like a dream.