I just got 6MB/s Down & 788k up, I'm excited - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2005, 02:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

ok so T1 is better or what? and what i s T1 is it phone, dsl, fiber optix or what? BTW i have 28k so anythign is better than it and my school has T1 as well but their proxy slows it down big time.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 03:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Well I think T1 is something completely different than phone, cable or DSL all together. And its extremely expensive (at least it used to be from what i remember). THats why businesses and schools are usually the only ones to have it.
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

T1 lines are constantly monitored. The company that provides it guarantees a certain uptime (ie, 99% uptime).

Also, depending on the company, they can assign you a set of IP's that you can do whatever you want with. At the company that I used to work for, they had two T1 lines, and 2 different sets of IP's (10.x.x.1 through 10.x.x.225 for example was one set, for example).
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 04:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

t1 no offense sucks now. DSL has reached basicly the same amount of uptime as well.

If you need the speed and reliability of a t1 for a fraction of the price, a dual WAV router with DSL and Cable is a good idea.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

well what if you cant get dsl or cable out where you used to live?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 10:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Than, you need to ***** until you get it. Or fork out the money for a t1
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.