The Food & Drink Thread

What about putting some pork belly in the slow cooker and a packet of bacon. Slow cooking the bacon and pork belly to drain and extract the stock from the meat , then adding the rice to the slow cooker.

I just do not want to have wet sticky rice and the water \ juices to rice ratio is a nightmare when trying or experimenting with this as I have no experience.

I was going to boil the rice, then wash it because after cooking I was told by my local Asian news agent who does this often, cooking the rice and then washing it will remove the starch and stop it sticking. Kinda like blanching it to stop it cooking.

In that scenario I would cook the meat then drain the liquid into a container. From there you can skim off some/all of the fat and then measure it so you can get the rice to liquid ratio correct. Cooking the rice in the slow cooker would require finding the times online as I haven't tried that.

Sticky rice comes from overcooking it from my understanding.

From the times I have seen fried rice made in hibachi joints they are using cold cooked rice.

In that scenario I would cook the meat then drain the liquid into a container. From there you can skim off some/all of the fat and then measure it so you can get the rice to liquid ratio correct. Cooking the rice in the slow cooker would require finding the times online as I haven't tried that.

Sticky rice comes from overcooking it from my understanding.

From the times I have seen fried rice made in hibachi joints they are using cold cooked rice.

This is what I have just done. For the last two hours I have been experimenting as such in the kitchen, I took half a cup of rice and one and a half cups of water. Brought the water to the boil, added the rice, then added a quarter of a cup as and when needed until the rice was cooked but not sticky.