crysis omg - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2007, 03:32 AM   #71 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: crysis omg

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
How demanding is this game...

i have
8800gtx
e6600
2gb ram

and I was told I couldn't even run this game at max settings??!?!
Thats really the only reason I got the 8800gtx.. Is this true??
This game is designed to take advantage of future hardware...so no I would not expect the 8800GTX to handle it at maximum settings unless the resolution is low (1440x900, 1024x768)

FarCry was the same way when it came out....
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 03:42 AM   #72 (permalink)
NEEDS MORE DAKKA!!!
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: crysis omg

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
This game is designed to take advantage of future hardware...so no I would not expect the 8800GTX to handle it at maximum settings unless the resolution is low (1440x900, 1024x768)

FarCry was the same way when it came out....
And it will be to their disadvantage. If you are going to make a game, then you might want to make a game for the current hardware, and not tomorrow's.

Like who is going to play a game if your hardware is not going to support it.

The only way that the devs will win on this is if they are producing a game, not for the end user, however to debute their gaming graphic engine for future devs to work with.
Eg. Sourse Engine. How many games have that shown up in that are not Valve.See List
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
HP zBook 14 - Intel Core i7 4600U (2.1 - 2.7 GHz), 16GB, 512GB SSD, 14" Display, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 8+Console : Play Station 4 Pro
Harper is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 03:48 AM   #73 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: crysis omg

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harper View Post
And it will be to their disadvantage. If you are going to make a game, then you might want to make a game for the current hardware, and not tomorrow's.

Like who is going to play a game if your hardware is not going to support it.

The only way that the devs will win on this is if they are producing a game, not for the end user, however to debute their gaming graphic engine for future devs to work with.
Eg. Sourse Engine. How many games have that shown up in that are not Valve.See List
It works with current hardware....its just that they have given it a bit of extra potential to tap in the future...I don't think that's a bad idea at all.

...and like I said, they did this already with FarCry and that game was quite successful.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 11:25 AM   #74 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,789
Default Re: crysis omg

Apparently a supercomputer of 512 Opteron processors can render 1 frame of Crysis ingame in roughly 24 hours. WE HAVE THE TECHNOLOGY PEOPLE
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:01 PM   #75 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: crysis omg

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaara View Post
Apparently a supercomputer of 512 Opteron processors can render 1 frame of Crysis ingame in roughly 24 hours. WE HAVE THE TECHNOLOGY PEOPLE
lol!

but seriously i think its a good think that they arent already pushing the engine to its max.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 02:38 PM   #76 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: crysis omg

SPEED OF "ELECTRICITY"
1996 Bill Beaty

How fast does electricity flow? Well, it depends on what you mean by "electricity." The word Electricity has more than one contradictory meaning, so before we can talk about its flow, we have to decide on which of several "electricities" we really mean. For a discussion of electric current, see below. But for articles about fast-flowing electromagnetic energy, see the FAQ, or this email discussion.

OK, then how about this. When we turn on a flashlight, something called an "electric current" begins to happen. Inside the flashlight bulb, the thin filament-wire gets hot because there is electric current in the metal. This current is a motion of something. How fast does this "something" move? This question can be answered.



The quick answer
Inside the wires, the "something" moves very, very slowly, almost as slowly as the minute hand on a clock. Electric current is like a flow of syrup. Even maple syrup moves too fast, so that's not a good analogy. Electric charges flow as slowly as a river of warm putty. And in AC circuits, it doesn't move forward at all, instead it sits in one place and vibrates. Energy can flow fast in an electric circuit because metals are already filled with this "putty." If you push on one end of a column of putty, the far end moves almost instantly. Energy flows fast, yet an electric current is a very slow flow.


The complicated answer
Within all metals there is a substance which can move. This stuff has several different names: the Sea of Charge, or the Electron Sea, or the Electron Gas, or "charge." We often call it "electricity." Calling it "electricity" can be misleading because charge is not energy, yet many people think that electrical energy is the "electricity." It can be misleading because the Sea of Charge exists within in all metal objects, all the time, even when the metal has not been made into a wire and is not part of an electric device. If the Electron Sea is "electricity," then we must say that all metals are full of electricity. Better to call it by the name "charge-sea," and avoid the misleading word "electricity".

During an electric current, the wire stays still and the sea of charge flows along through it. When the flashlight switch is turned off and the lightbulb goes dark, the charge-sea stops moving forward. Even though it stops moving, the charge-sea is still inside of that wire. If the flashlight is again turned on and two light bulbs are connected in parallel instead of one, the electric current will have twice as large a value, and twice as much light will be created. And most important, the charge-sea of the battery's wires will flow twice as fast. In other words, THE SPEED OF THE CHARGES IS PROPORTIONAL TO THE VALUE OF ELECTRIC CURRENT; small current means low-speed charge flow, large current means high speed. Zero current means the charges have stopped. Note however that an electric current does not have just one speed. Charges speed up when they flow into a thinner wire. The high current in the lightbulb of a big flash-lantern will be much faster than the same current in the conductors in the lantern. Even though an electric current is a very slow flow of charges, we can't know the actual speed of flow unless first we know the *value* (the amperes) of the current in the wires.


If a thin wire is connected in a circuit end to end with a thick wire, it turns out that the charges in the thin wire move faster. This makes sense, it works just like water in rivers. If a huge wide river moves into a narrow channel, the water speeds up. When the channel opens out again downstream, the river slows down again. The flow in a very thin wire will be tend to be fast, even if the value of current is fairly low. This means that we can't know the speed of the flowing charge-sea unless we know how thick the wires are.


If a copper wire is connected into a series circuit with an aluminum wire of the same diameter, the charges in the copper will flow slower. This occurs because there is one movable charge per each atom in the metals, but there are more atoms packed into the copper than into the aluminum, so there is more charge in each bit of copper. When the charge-sea flows into the copper, it gets packed together and slows down. When it flows out into the aluminum, it spreads out a bit and speeds up. This means that we cannot know how fast the charges flow unless we know how dense the charge-sea is within the metal.



The speed of electric current
Since nothing visibly moves when the charge-sea flows, we cannot measure the speed of its flow by eye. Instead we do it by making some assumptions and doing a calculation. Let's say we have an electric current in normal lamp cord connected to bright light bulb. The electric current works out to be a flow of approximatly 3 inches per hour. Very slow!

Here's how I worked out that value. I know:

Bulb power: about 100 watts, about 100V at 1A
Value for electric current: I = 1 ampere
Wire diameter: D = 2/10 cm, radius R=.1cm
Mobile electrons per cc (for copper, if 1 per atom): Q = 8.5*10^+22
Charge per electron: e = 1.6*10^-19
The equation:

cm/sec = ________I_______ = .0023 cm/sec = 8.4 cm/hour
Q * e * R^2 * pi


This is for DC. Chris R. points out that for a particular value of frequency of AC, the "skin effect" can cause the flow of charges in the center of a wire to be reduced while the current on the surface becomes stronger. There are fewer charges flowing, and hence they must flow faster. ("Skin Effect" is stronger at high frequencies and with thick wires. The effect can USUALLY be ignored in thin wires at 60Hz power-line frequencies.)


The size of the wiggle
And about AC... how far do the electrons move as they vibrate back and forth? Well, we know that a one-amp current in 1mm wire is moving at 8.4cm per hour, so in one second it moves:
8.4cm / 3600sec = .00233 cm per second

And in 1/60 of a second it will travel back and forth by
.00233cm/sec / (1/60) = .0000389cm, or around .00002"

This simple calculation is for a square wave. For a sine wave we'd integrate the velocity to determine the width of electron travel.

So for a typical AC current in a typical lamp cord, the electrons don't actually "flow," instead they vibrate back and forth by about a hundred-thousandth of an inch.



The width of one Coulomb
On thinking along these lines I notice something interesting: in copper, one coulomb of movable electrons has a certain size! There are about 13,000 coulombs of free electrons per cubic centimeter of copper.
8.5*10^+22 elect/cc * 1.6*10^-19 coul./elect = 13600 Coul./cc

Therefore one coulomb would form a cube approximately 0.4mm across...
1/(13600cc^(1/3)) = 0.042 cm

HA! A coulomb in copper is about the size of a grain of sand! We can now discuss electric current within wires as if it were cc per second of fluid flow inside of small hoses. If an Ampere is one coulomb per second, we're REALLY saying that an Ampere is "one saltgrain-sized blob, moving each second, squeezing itself into whatever sized wire." So, for the usual sizes of wires in electric circuitry, if we deliver one salt-grain per second (one amp,) that's a very slow flow. In 16-gauge wire the saltgrain blobs would resemble very thin stacked pancakes. In 30-gauge wire the saltgrains would be almost undistorted, and charges would move at about 0.4 mm/sec during a 1-amp current.
__________________
wicked23 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 03:10 PM   #77 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: crysis omg

someone came through
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 03:41 PM   #78 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default Re: crysis omg

you dont need vista to run crysis, you need vista to run crysis w/ dx10 graphics. i thinks 6600gt would run crysis at low settings w/ low res well.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis DX10 vs. DX9, videos and pics... b1gapl PC Gaming 21 06-01-2007 09:09 PM
Personal Crysis in Deciding About Buying a PC hirschab New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-15-2007 03:29 PM
Hi-Res 'Alien Reveal' Crysis Trailer Trotter PC Gaming 2 04-28-2007 11:02 PM
Why Crysis Is Going To Set Me Back £700.... Oreo PC Gaming 75 04-07-2007 01:34 PM
Crysis Gameplay Video... H4x3r Off Topic Discussion 8 04-01-2007 07:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.