bringing my old back - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2012, 06:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,979
Default Re: bringing my old back

You get a display now? That is good, that means a component that was removed, could be defective, or have a bad connection. When you get home, shut the PC down, and plug ONE device up at a time, till you find the one that stops the machine from posting. Also, make sure you set the CD/DVD drive to the first boot device when you begin to install the OS.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mrnotu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East TN USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: bringing my old back

Thanks cOrrOsive for your help. Got the boot disk installed last night. It did not like they way I formatted and I had to let it do the format. I did the slow format and that took most of the night. It has been on 'starting windows' for over an hour and am waiting to see what it does. Be in the morning before I look at it again.

SeeYa

...
__________________

__________________
CPU-6100 3.3 Ghz Black Edition, MB ASUS CrossHair V, GPU Galaxy GTX 560ti X2, G.Skill Sniper 1866 4x4GB, PSU SilverStone SST-ST1000-P, WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1TB x2, Monitor ASUS 258VE LED BackLit, ASUS 12x BW-12B1ST Blu-Ray Writer, IWIN BUC case, SteelSeries MERC KeyBoard,NetGear DGND3700 N600 Wireless ADSL2+
mrnotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mrnotu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East TN USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: bringing my old back

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Did you ever find what device was causing it to not boot properly????
Still working on it. Have not had much time to spend on it. I could not get to the windows page till I disconnected the disk reader/writer. Could that be it? Have not been able to log onto the internet cause I can not get a connection. So that is what I am working on now. Did not think I would have so much trouble. This setup worked quit well before. Never had much problem with it. I do not see how people who do this for a living make a living cause everything I do takes so long. I am Computer Inept. Does the Medical Society recognize that as a disease? Cause I have it.
__________________
CPU-6100 3.3 Ghz Black Edition, MB ASUS CrossHair V, GPU Galaxy GTX 560ti X2, G.Skill Sniper 1866 4x4GB, PSU SilverStone SST-ST1000-P, WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1TB x2, Monitor ASUS 258VE LED BackLit, ASUS 12x BW-12B1ST Blu-Ray Writer, IWIN BUC case, SteelSeries MERC KeyBoard,NetGear DGND3700 N600 Wireless ADSL2+
mrnotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mrnotu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East TN USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: bringing my old back

Any easy way to connect to internet? Canot seem to configure the setting for it. Says I have a good conection but unable to log on through the home network or by itself.
__________________
CPU-6100 3.3 Ghz Black Edition, MB ASUS CrossHair V, GPU Galaxy GTX 560ti X2, G.Skill Sniper 1866 4x4GB, PSU SilverStone SST-ST1000-P, WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1TB x2, Monitor ASUS 258VE LED BackLit, ASUS 12x BW-12B1ST Blu-Ray Writer, IWIN BUC case, SteelSeries MERC KeyBoard,NetGear DGND3700 N600 Wireless ADSL2+
mrnotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mrnotu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East TN USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: bringing my old back

HiYa, I had some time to work on this and have just flopped... I got the thing up and running but just cannot get it to go online. I remember the last time I had to download drivers on a usb or something on another computer and load them into this one. But I can not remember what drivers or how I did it. I have looked and looked and cannot find the storage device with the drivers on it. I know I should still have it around. Nothing is ever easy for me.
__________________

__________________
CPU-6100 3.3 Ghz Black Edition, MB ASUS CrossHair V, GPU Galaxy GTX 560ti X2, G.Skill Sniper 1866 4x4GB, PSU SilverStone SST-ST1000-P, WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1TB x2, Monitor ASUS 258VE LED BackLit, ASUS 12x BW-12B1ST Blu-Ray Writer, IWIN BUC case, SteelSeries MERC KeyBoard,NetGear DGND3700 N600 Wireless ADSL2+
mrnotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bringing PC to Iraq Luweegee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 01-29-2009 02:42 AM
bringing a disk back to life ultraman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-04-2005 06:02 PM
system bringing back to new!!!!! linux1880 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-01-2004 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.