any security guys here? need advice on security cameras

raverx3m

Daemon Poster
im looking for a 4 camera system for my house
with the best night vision possible. in a low light parking lot. or no light at all
and best resolution possible
my budget is 400 dollars max but cheaper is better for a reasonable package.

I own 3 Hondas and tired of building a castle around them every night. as im sure many of you know Hondas get stolen quicker than college girls losing virginity.

theres just so many different brands and models I don't know much about it and don't know if some of those specs are deceiving like the peak power on the amps and speakers.

what specs should I be looking for and what specs are just BS to get customers attention.

and does brand matter or are they all made in china and specs matter more than brand?

I have that and I also know how easy they are to bypass by a pro. I work as an installer for about 10 years. and car alarms are placebo and amateur thief deterrents.

a camera is good to have as a backup

If you have cars that are worth so much that a professional would go after them, I suggest contacting a local security installation company to install you a good camera system. Though, I don't see how a professional thief cant get around your barricades but can get around a good car security system.

Look into Foscam, they are rather good cameras. http://foscam.us/ But your best bet is still contacting a local company for site survey to get your best options.

Last edited:
Lol who steals a Honda? You have 3 S2000s? NSX?

yup...Honda Acord and Civic for hot used cars from a 2013 report
Here's the list of the 10 most stolen cars from all model years taken during 2013, according to the NICB, with total units cited:

Honda Accord, 53,995
Honda Civic, 45,001
Chevrolet Silverado, 27,809
Ford F-150, 26,494
Toyota Camry, 14,420
Dodge/Ram Pickup, 11,347
Dodge Caravan, 10,911
Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee, 9,272
Toyota Corolla, 9,010
Nissan Altima, 8,892