.:23 Ways to speed up WinXP without defrag:. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Member's Area > Off Topic Discussion
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2004, 04:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i don't agree with 18.) Do not partition the hard drive. i think any computer around 4GB or over should have at least 2 partitions. you can accidentally format a drive as easily as you can delete a drive.

also i do this so i can store user data and a ghost image of the operating system volume on the second partition. this way i can make a bootable CD and put ghost2k3 and autoexec.bat on it. when they pop in that bootable CD it would start a DOS menu asking if they want to restore there OS.

if they select yes it would execute a ghost2k3 commandline switch that would automatically start restoring the OS partition. this is equal to any restore CD and works the same way.

this is something you could do when fixing a computer. i would tell them to store all data to the second partition. all your client needs to know is to boot with the CD when their operating system needs restoring. i suggested ghost2k3 because it supports NTFS.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs up

Nice List Placebo!!!
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 04:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default Re: .:23 Ways to speed up WinXP without defrag:.

Quote:
Originally posted by Placebo


21.) Disable unnecessary services. Windows XP loads a lot of services that your customer most likely does not need. To determine which services you can disable for your client, visit the Black Viper site for Windows XP configurations.

I just did this recently myself and boy oh boy it really did decrease windows startup time, the "desktop phase" is now way faster.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 02-13-2004, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

When I originally Disabled some Services I took out My Home Network also so be careful!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

I agree with 18, when a hard drive is at 50% capacity it will indeed slow down, especially on a smaller hard drive, if you partition it into 2 say on a 10G hard drive, and fill up your C drive with Winxp, windows office, and a paint program and a little music, you've already filled up 2.5G, now the second hard drive is for games, you install 3 games if you're lucky and you drive will be running twice as slow than if it weren't partitioned... nice list Placebo
Demalii is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I disagree with #18 as well. I think it's much safer to have a seperate partition for the OS. I have to physical drives, and one is partitioned(generously, I might add) for the OS. And with all that can happen, I can reinstall the OS on a clean and reformated drive without touching the rest of my data. I've done it several times, and always been thankful that my drives are partitioned.

who really has a 10 gig hard drive anymore, anyway?

otherwise, nice list!
Shannon is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shannon


who really has a 10 gig hard drive anymore, anyway?

i don't. but i do have a 20 gig one. (which has 2 partitions 50/50)
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 11:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 60
Default Ooh

Nice! Thanks guy for all the tips! Man! I didn't even think my hard drives would be on indexing! But they were- the other tips were great too! Go England!

-Eric

Ps- Who here in America doesn't envy your guy's accents???
__________________
P4 2.8 ghz 533 fsb,
512 DDR 2700, 256mb Radeon 9600xt,
20 and 40 gig hard drives,
48x cd-rom, 48x burner
Eric5000 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Use seperate partitions for OS/Soft and other data (MP3, movs, docs) Its easy to format this way.

Multiple partitions do not neccesarely decrease performance. You can manually increase the partitions cluster size to increase performance with Partition Magic. (only useful for FAT/FAT32) Be aware of slack space though.

Also:

You can defragment really quick if you move all data from one partition to another and back.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 08:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can also increase the cluster size using the MSDOS "/z" switch: "format /Z:8" (8KiloByte clusters) for example. Make sure you know what you are doing though. You will loose all data on your harddrive and some programs won't work.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.