Will adding more ram, make really that much of a difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2004, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Default Will adding more ram, make really that much of a difference?

Just how much of a difference will adding more ram to my laptop make?

I currently have 256 ram on my lapop. I play games like Dark age of camelot, medal of honor, the sims and a few others. At times I get graphical lag. I often play on the resolution above 800x600.

If I get a stick of 512 ultra ram, raising my overall ram to 640 will that make that much of a difference honestly?

Just trying to make a good buying decision, I keep hearing that it will do wonders for my pc and I just don't want to make sure its not just retail mumbo jumbo.
__________________

LightingBird is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

depends on your specs, but I think you will se a difference cause laptop HD's are very slow.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I noticed a difference going from 256 to 512.
If you're a gamer I'd say at least 512 is a must.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 03:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

It will make a small difference, but if you want to play games like that you should try to upgrade the video card on your laptop. desktops are more suitable for gaming because you can get more powerful cards for them compared to what you can get for a laptop & the same video card for a laptop costs much more. what is the video card model on your laptop?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 04:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Yes, the RAM will show a big improvement, as 256 can get eaten up pretty fast. Note that the speed of your RAM will be brought down to math eatchother, so if one is 2700 and the other is 3800...they will both be 2700.

Though, as he said, a graphics card could help a bit too.
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah the Ram will help out, but im sure you probably need to do alot more with this system.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Default

Its amazing.

I posted this same post up on 4 different forums and on all of them I got the same mixed up messages.

1. It will make a minor difference.
2. A faster hard drive will make a difference.
3. It won't speed it up.
4. I have a good laptop.
5. I need a better laptop.
6. Ram will help greatly.

Not to mention all the assumptive responses. So from what I have learned from the detailed responders. Hard drives can affect it but ram will be a better upgrade over a new hard drive. This is of course unless my HD is old and slow which it isn't.

So Ill buy the extra 512 and see what happens. Thanks all.

By the way, I have a Compaq Evo N600c.
LightingBird is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well 256mb of Ram is a very low capacity for modern applications and pc games. Im not sure you understand what RAM excatly is.

Imagine a emptly cup, and someone is droping pennys in it. While the cups capacity slowly decreases because of the pennys, less space is avalible. Thats how RAM works. While your processor is processing the DATA (Pennys) the capacity of your RAM (Cup) grows. DATA (Pennys) are being taken out. But once your RAM (Cup) gets filled lag starts. Then penny's start to over flow.

So because modern aplications and pc games are so advacned you need alot more RAM then you did lets say 3 years ago.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.