video card ques. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2005, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default video card ques.

im sure this may have already been discussed but no luck finding an answer.so sorry if it has,but i currently own one of those lovely DELL desktops 2400 and really have no major complaints(just yet) but I like to play games of course on with my kids but the integrated video card is kind of a joke.Question being can you update these machines and with what kind of cards are compatible with them.I am clearly no rocket scientist when it comes to these but I know I could probally install a new card if these machines are capable of it.Any info would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

clueless69 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

Yes, you can update the card depending on how much money you want to spend and what your looking for. You can go to any computer store and ask the people there and they should give you what you want.
__________________

__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Theirs alot to upgrading a integrated machine. First, you probably dont have a AGP slot. So to make sure, find out. Before i go on, i need to know if you have a AGP slot. Even if you dont you can get a PCI card, witch these are nothing near good.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Default

Try to get either the computers specifications or get the model number.
jppoulin is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Find out if you have an AGP slot. If so I would suggest you go to newegg.com and search for AGP graphics cards just to get an idea of what kind of cards are out there for what kinds of money.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, Dell and emachines still don't include AGP slots for the most part in their desktop system. They want you to get tired of the Integrated graphics, start to hate it, realize you can't upgrade it, then go buy their gaming model PC.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 09:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Yeah, I agree it will be hard to get much of an upgrade without a agp slot. this is one of the better cards you can get for pci http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...564&CatId=319, you would notice a big diference with this card, and a ram update wouldnt hurt either. This is the same pc I use at work, It really isnt very upgradable, but if you dont want to upgrade processor and mobo, this is probally the way I would go.
__________________

Outlaw 29 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.