system shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default system shutdown

I am working on a dell for a freind, the system will run fine for some time then shutdoown and give me a heat error. i pulled the cpu re-lubed it, cleaned the fan. that didnt help, i tested the power supply and told me it was bad so i replaced it and shutdown again with the same error. i stuck my post card in and i keep getting the code "0d" cant find it any where in my book, the only thing in the book is "0Dh" which in my book says reserved? help me out guys i could use it.

thanks
__________________

bigworm is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

To determine if its an heat problem, i recommend checking your temps. Mobo/CPU/Agp. This would help alot. Also can you notice any heat from the computer?
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

thanks i have been down that road.
bigworm is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

The POST code 0D for Dell Bios means 64k parity error ie the RAM.
I am assuming that your system won't boot past the BIOS test, so to determine whether the RAM is the problem, I would remove the first RAM module (if you have more than one) & see if that solves it. If system will boot beyond Post test, try a dos based memory testing program such as memtest86 etc from a floppy.
Samm is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

thanks alot but i know its not the ram. its the cpu
bigworm is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well if you been down that road why are you saying its a heat problem...?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 08:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I guess what i should have said was that when i tried to load a program to tell me what the heat temps were the computer would shut down.

its the fan in the back its a 2.6 with a 533 and the smart people at dell used the whole case/cpu fan technology that sucks lol. but the other problem is that the heatsink is an oversized one so that you cant just pull it out and mount a normal heatsink and fan, the mount on the board is made to only take that heatsink, so i pulled a mouont from another board and seated in on the board set the cpu and clamped in a vantec heatsink and fan. hahah guess what the freakn fan connector is no where near what it needs to be lol, god i love dell. was kinda dumb on my part not to check the connector but who would have thought they would do that. so after 2hrs on the phone with some one whos english wasnt so good i finaly go them to ship me one of those fans, but im sure when i get it, it will be the wrong one.

buut hey man thanks for the help.
__________________

bigworm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.