random lockups - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2005, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to flawedgeek
Default random lockups

Alright, here's the deal. After I finished my new rig with an athlon XP 3200, a soyo KT600 ultra platinum mobo, an nvidia geforce 4600ti and a gig of Geil RAM, i've been getting random lockups. After toasting 2 WD raptors (covered by warranty, luckily), I ran memtest86 on my RAM, and found errors. Got the memory replaced, then I was playing halo for a bit today, and it locked up again. Tested the RAM again, no errors. Any suggestions?

flawedgeek is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default After much troubleshooting

I had a very similar problem. First, I tried replacing the hard drive, no luck, I tired a different: memory, video card, keyboard, mouse, then I went nuts and swapped out the motherboard and CPU. Nothing freaken worked. Finally, I tried another power supply and wow, everything was stable as a rock. Of course your problem could be of another cause but a flawed power supply can cause havoc. Most of the time I had random lock-ups and when I tried re-installs and fixes, I just kept getting different types of blue screen death notices. I've been building PCs for years and this is the first power supply that hosed me. What really burned my toast was that it was an Antec True 330, not some no name knock-off. Of well, hope this helps.

redplanet is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to flawedgeek
Default update.....

Well, last thursday my computer locked up again, and ended up toasting both a 74GB WD raptor and another 80 gig SATA drive. I got sufficiently pissed off, swallowed my pride, and visited the Geek Squad over at Best Buy. Talked to the guy for about a minute until he realized what was going on, and (hopefully) fixed it. Seems like my mobo manual was too vauge in the BIOS setup instructions, and the IRQs supposedly caused something strange to go on with the onboard sound. We'll see if that worked, otherwise it's time for a new PSU.
flawedgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.