Power Supply Noise with Graphics. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2004, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default Power Supply Noise with Graphics.

After extensive looking through these forums using the search option I still have not found a resolution to my problem. So here goes:


See my signature below for my setup. I have a 500w powersupply and when I run games my PS will make a ticking noise that's loud enough to be annoying. At first glance, I thought my power supply is underpowered. I have 6 LED case fans running and I moved my graphics card to a powerline that dosen't have any fans connected to it. Does anyone have a solution for my PS to stop making that noise? Or is it just a cheap PS and I need to get a new one?
__________________

Wurmfist is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I've never heard of a power supply ticking before, very strange indeed. Is it just the PSU fans which are making this noise, or is it the PSU itself? Also, what power supply is it? If it's a generic one I'd recommend replacing it with a thermaltake, antec, etc.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, I think it's probably just a cheap power supply. I don't think it's the fans making the noise. I didn't think it was a cheap power supply at the time, but I think I will check out Thermaltake and the other brands you mentioned.

Thanks

Added: Actually I looked up my PS it's an Aspire 500w. Details on it can be found here: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...179&CatId=1079
Wurmfist is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It may just make those noises while it's working under heavy loads, although that seems irregular for a 500watt supply.

If the warranty is still good, I'd take it back and get it switched with another one, try that one out, if it still makes the clicking sounds, I'd say it's time for a new power supply.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.