Poor performance on new SATA hd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 05:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Poor performance on new SATA hd

I have an 80 gig ide Western Digital hd as well as a 120 gig SATA Western Digital hd. I am using the SATA as my main drive so it has windows loaded on it. My system recognizes both drives just fine and windows installed without a problem. I was never asked for SATA drivers like some posts were talking about. My system seems to be 100% stable, but the read/write speeds on the SATA is horrible! I cannot install games on it because it takes FOREVER! I can put them on my 80 gig with incredible speed and no problems, but the load time is just unacceptable on the SATA drive. I there something I might have done wrong to cause this? Is running an IDE and SATA together not possible? Here are my system specs:

p4 3.0 ghz
1 gig pc3200 ddr ram
pcchips Tidal Wave t12 motherboard
antec tru480 watt ps
radeon 9800 pro
80 gig ide WD 7200 rpm
120 gig sata WD 7200 rpm

Any suggestions on how to boost the performace up to where it should be would be much appreciated!
__________________

Drmeff is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 02:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Smile

Nothing? Come on tech heads, you can do better than this!

__________________

Drmeff is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 03:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

What speed is the SATA? It should be a forward slash then its max MBps rate. Tell us that and if your drive came with a cd install the drivers. You never know, they may help.
AT2005 is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 02:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

it is just a standard 7200 rpm drive. I am assuming the MAX mbps is 150 hence SATA... but I am not sure how to find that speed. When I try to run SIS sandra and run any test on that hd it just hangs. I just bought the drive OEM so no install cd's
Drmeff is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

well, I fiddled with the bios a bit, and found that the option for 32 bit transfer was disabled on the SATA, I enabled it but I really havent seen any improvments...
Drmeff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.