Overclocking??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Fefner Send a message via Yahoo to Fefner
Lightbulb Overclocking???

What is "Overclocking" ???
__________________

Fefner is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The process of running the device faster than it is specified to do.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Fefner Send a message via Yahoo to Fefner
Default

Ahhh!... Thnx
Fefner is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

no problem
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
Default

why/how would one try and do that?
slamdunka123 is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
Default

learn more about it first before one fries and melts is nice plastic circuitboards.
ccrraazzyy is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Mostly overclocking gives you better per4mance.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 09:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

Bragging rights... and you must do it within the BIOS for the most part even though some programs will let you change part of the specs in windows... however if you dont know what overclocking is your current board probably doesnt support it... give us your specs and we will suggest many things to you, i promise
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

LMAO bragging rights.. yes thats a little more cinsisive.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.