new build MSI AMD64 no BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2005, 09:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default new build MSI AMD64 no BIOS

I have completed building a PC and it will not even get to BIOS.
No POST either, no beeps ...

case MSE SideWinder 400W
processor AMD64 3200 Newcastle core
stock heatsink & fan
RAM Elixir DDR 400 512MB
video card Gigabyte Radeon 9200SE 128MB
sound card Sound Blaster Audigy 2 zs
hard drive Western Digital 80GB 8MB buffer 7200rpm
floppy drive Sony 3.5 1.44MB
cd-ROM/DVD Sony cd-ROM/DVD combo R R/W 52x

So when I go to boot it up, the fans start spinning (and kept spinning) but nothing else happens. I tried this a few times.
After a long while, I turn it off, wait a bit, turn it back on,
then the fan spins for just a second, like it got just enough
juice to make it start to spin, and cuts off instantly. The geen
light on the front of the case stays on.
After turning off the power toggle switch on the back of the
case, I see a green light on the front of the case come on for
a few seconds, then goes off. The D-Link on the back showed
4 lights, indicating the processor needed to be reinstalled. So I got some Arctic Silver 5, reinstalled the AMD64 chip & heatsink,
and it still will not do anything but a brief fan spin ...
Do I need to reset something ? I have built a few computers,
but this one has me baffled. Please help.

jwoody is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 22

I had the same type of thing happen when I was building my last one. After scratching my head several times I realized not all of the connectors on the processor were touching. I had reset it a couple times before, then it was fine after they touched just right. It seems kinda dumb but try setting it again just to make sure because it is so sensitive.

If not that could there be something wrong with the power supply? Just some suggestions. I know its frustrating sometimes but its worth it once something finally clicks.

bsharding is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 01:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441

I've checked MSI's website for issues on this. Found this :

Some of the K8T Neo manuals & mobos, have the clear CMOS (JBAT1) jumper marked backwards in manual & on the board.
You may wish to check this.

If thats ok, then I suggest the following :

Double check all jumper settings on mobo.
Make sure the 4-pin ATX connector is plugged in.
Remove mobo from the case (to ensure nothing is shorting it out) and disconnect everything except RAM, video, keyboard and try to boot again.
Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.