My computer works slow - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2004, 11:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to FabianJ

I get the same problem, just clean everything up ... disk defrag ... uninstall old stuff .... the usual.

FabianJ is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268

How old is your HDD? If its old and you've not upgraded your RAM windows will be storing much more stuff on your HDD which will be causing a bottleneck in your system.

At the moment RAM is pricey for some reason. Buying a new HDD for £40 (ish) would increase your space and allow you to start using a fresh install of XP given that access times on newer HDDs are now about half what they used to be and that you can now get a MAXTOR with a 16mb cache.

Also if you get the new RAM you may be able to go into dual channel mode, assuming you buy another 128Mb chip this is the same as your current one. This would increase performance.

So overall I would recommend a new HDD and the RAM.

I hope i don't sound pushy since im only a n00b.

jono199 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 06:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Im not trying to sound mean or anything, but its the howl system. That setup is extremely out dated, Intercodes thats far from a decent computer.

With modern applications your just at the lowest recommendations for them. Its nothing to worry about, theirs not a problem. Just an old computer. But if you decide to keep that, get 512mb RAM if your mobo will accept it.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 10:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6


Your system is running slow because you have 128 MB of RAM and you are using windows XP along with tons of other resource hogs, and trust me your OS is the number one problem. Try going to and try out some opensource software for a change. It's written a lot better, and it's set up just like xp. You would however be better off with more RAM 256 MB should be fine. If you insist on keeping XP then you should see if your mobo supports 512 MB of RAM. Adding more RAM will fix your issues. With linspire you won't have to worry about spyware, virus protection, or any of the other nonesense that windows os people makes you spend more money on.
djabrams is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

Also if you dont have a dedicated video card, the memory you allocated the intregrated graphics will eat up that amount of physical memory thus making slower...

INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.