Key Board error... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2005, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy Key Board error...

My daughter, away at school, has an IBM Thinkpad T23. She went to turn it on and got a 0211 keyboard error and a hit F1 for setup command. Can't do F1 because hitting any key gets only a beep. Rebooting does nothing. Any suggestions? TIA

chimknee is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441

Chances are the keyboard interface cable has worked loose or is damaged.
You could try lifting out the keyboard & checking the cable/connections. The cable is usually a thin flat cable which is inserted into a plastic connector.
If you follow the link below, it will take you to the service manual for the Thinkpad T23. This tells you how to take the thing apart safely.

Failing that, you might be able to work around the problem by attaching a normal PS2 keyboard to the PS2 port on the rear of the laptop.

Samm is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 04:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1

it must be keyboard error, change the other one.
bunnyben is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 02:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85

Does it give the error when she turns it on; When the company Logo shows up if it' going to be a sticky key that was pressed down to hard so the clip is sort of stuck. And I will help you a little more. If you were to enter that error code into google for that brand and model the exact problem would show

0211 Keyboard error Keyboard not working. N/A

But their might be a high chance that the cable underneath thr board has come "undone" she can always buy a seperate keyboard which would be better for her posture, and health
AT2005 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33

Actually keyboard error doesn't necessarily mean a keyboard error. I have a computer that 0211 keyboard error when I try to use 512mb or ram over the 320mb. Generally its problem your motherboard encounters because of some hardware problem. However since the motherboard doesn't understand the problem it may come up as a keyboard error. Did you install any new hardware?
jppoulin is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo

Probably the simplest test before disassembling the keyboard thats there now is to attach the normal PS2 keyboard to the port on the back and see if that fixes the problem. Probably the least hassling way to fix it. Besides i hate typing on laptop keyboards anyways. LOL

bigstanklo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.