Just Built Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2004, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Default Just Built Computer

Hi everyone, I just built my first computer and I am having a little trouble. Here are the components:

Asus K8V Socket 754 ATX Motherboard and AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Processor

CPU Fan:
Speeze / Socket 754 / AMD Athlon 64 / Ball Bearing / CPU Cooling Fan

Chieftec - Dragon - Sky Blue Mid-Tower Case with Solid Side,
USB and FireWire Ports, and Side Exhaust Fan

Video Card: (Do Not Have Yet)
Diamond Viper Radeon 9600XT / 256MB DDR / AGP 8X / VGA / DVI /
TV Out / Video Card

Hard Drive:
Maxtor / 80GB / 7200 / 8MB / ATA-133 / EIDE Hard Drive

Ultra 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory 2 Pack (1024MB Total)

IBM 16x DVD-ROM / Intervideo WinDVD Software / DVD Drive

Power Supply:
Ultra / Titanium-Color / 500-Watt / ATX / Dual 80mm Fan / Power Supply

I installed all components into case. I figure that since I have a power supply and a MoBo that the components will at least power on, but then won't run. Since I dont have the vid card, I am wondering if (since I dont have that installed) if that would cause my system not to start.

The other possible reason (that I can puzzle out myself) is the ATX switches. The connector is 2-pin (green and black) and I wasnt sure which way it should go. Green to ground and black to switch or vice versa.

If anyone could shed some light on this I would be greatly appreciative. Thanks alot.


KarnSG is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

Yeah...lol you need the video card.

15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 10:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4

you shouldnt need the video card to get a power up......... the fans should go and it should make some noises..... try - if you can find the jump over the clear cmos, and remove it that might make it power up
til is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

Get the video card before trying to power it up no sense trying until then just be patiant.It might not start without.But why screw around with stuff if your not even done with putting it together your puttint the cart in front of the horse.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Definately not a bad system...and its HL2 ready. Just wait for the video card. Its all too common for people to be so excited when building a PC that they want to power it up without an essential part, but personally, I think its best just to wait till you get all your parts and then power up and enjoy your new PC to its fullest.
beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.