Help Me Please!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2005, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to screweduppc
Default Help Me Please!!

So I was cleaning out my pc with a air compressor put the case side back on and tried to turn it on it didn't work. So I took the case off and made sure everything was plugged in it was. Got it to open windows again then it wouldn't show the nic unless I unhid it in device manager. So I tried uninstalling it but windows wont let me. Tried roll back and updating neither work. So i figured a good ol reformat woulld fix the problem. Guess what it starts the reformat but as everyone knows how reformat goes it wont even get to the partition screen so i can delete the one already made. So now im stuck with a broke computer and on my laptop. Im in desperate need any one know anything from the description Im on aim at squirrelandstump or email at nc43830@mail.devrycols.edu. Please help
__________________

screweduppc is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

By partition screen, do you mean fdisk?
If so, what do you mean it doesn't get that far?

Also, why are you trying to delete/recreate the partition? A simple format should suffice.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Wow, what were you doing while cleaning yo. You said you wanted to make sure everything was plugged in. Did you start taking hardware apart? While cleaning?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Mate of mine decided to dust underneath the heatsink of his 2GHz Athlon. Like it's really going to get dusty there!

He then proceeded to refit the heatsink back-to-front and needless to say, blew the CPU the first time he switched it back on.
Samm is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to screweduppc
Default

I got it fixed one of the IDE cables where messed up I was trying to pull it back out and it was ripped. After that everything worked fine.
screweduppc is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

To reference my original question, why are you trying to partition the drive anyway when a format should be sufficient & are you using a boot disk to do it?
__________________

Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.