Graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2004, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default Graphics card

Hi all,

I recently bought Everquest 2 for the PC and found out that my GeForce MX 420 won't allow me to play the game. I, in my burning desire to play the game, convinced my friend to let me barrow is graphics card until I got a new one. He has a GeForce 3 Ti 200, and it works good, but I am looking for something a little better. I'm looking for a card around $200. I need to know what is good and why. What is the best card I can get for around $200 or under?

All help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

~Ranbinous
__________________

Ranbinous is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 35
Default

In USD, you should probably wait till Christmas time to get a nvidia geforce 6600 GT or a radeon x700 AGP version, because they only come in pci-express form right now. However, if you can't wait that long, the ATi radeon 9600XT is always an excellent choice to balance budget and performance.

Btw, what are your system specs? You might not be able to use an AGP 8x card on your system.
__________________

ReCoiL is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yea, wait for the GeForce 6600GT. It should be around $200 and matches the Radeon X800 Pro.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

??

Im not sure on that one. The 6600 runs off of PCI-EX.
Unless you are confined to that price then it might be the best option.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I've got a Dell Demension 8200
2.0ghz processor
512mb RAM
4x agp slot

I think thats all you really need to know. Correct?

~Ranbinous

(Now for the why please. Thanks!)
Ranbinous is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Well, if it's a Dell then it might not be upgradable.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

GameGURU, yes a dell is upgradable. I've upgraded it atleat twice.

Ranbinous is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 01:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

I've heard mixed things about the X series.
If you want something older but still solid, go 9800/9700/9600 Pro.

Sapphire's Radeon 9800 Pro is ($200) 30 bucks cheaper at newegg and has better cooling apparatus than the ATI
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
Default

all package computers are gay........the like to be gay and rape eachother and kiss thier fellow man. I had a HP once (first computer). It tried to rape me.
(now that i ahve said that)

All is not lost for u. U can upgrade package computers but sometimes thier are switches on the motherboard which need to be enabled/disabled. Bios setting may need to be changed. And if u got a package computer u prolly ahve a celeron proc. Meaning u should prolly upgrade that aswell one day (im not telling u to buy anything). But more tot eh point.

Geforce vs Radeon

Geforce:
even the most expensive gforce cards still equal the old radeon 9000 in core clock speed. 350mhz. They are ok if u want to buy a piece of #^@#. Good if u wanna be gay and buy like 5 fans to cool ur card down so u can uber oc it. (better for overclocking).

Radeon:
Go for the radeon 9600xt 256mb ddr 128 mbit. That runs at around 500 mhz core clock speed. And now they are going for cheap on ebay with 12 months warrenty. but it is the australian ebay though (since im an aussie). Im buying one to make my cel 1.8 (400mhz fsb), 256 ddr 333 ram run faster. Im replacing my old rad 8500 (oced at 281.5 mhz and only just not blinking off).
__________________

ccrraazzyy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.