external hdd problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2005, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default external hdd problems

I am trying to clone my laptop internal hdd to a larger hdd (currently accessible via an external usb case). When I run the disk clone and Acronis needs to reboot, my laptop wouldn't reboot.... it seems to get hung during the boot sequence.

When I power down the laptop (by hitting the power button), and unplug the external hdd, it boots right up. If I plug in the external hdd again, XP finds and enables the usb device, it just won't restart with it plugged in.

I just can't seem to get my machine to reboot with it plugged in.

Due to the size and speed of the hdd (60 gig - 7200rpm) I have the new hdd plugged into a powered usb hub.... my laptop usb ports don't have enough juice to support the new hdd (at least not as an external component).

Any suggestions?
__________________

slippery_pete is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

You have cloned your internal HDD on to the external and made it a bootable HDD. BIOS is defaulting to the new drive. If you want it plugged in all the time, which is dangerous since any bugs you get will be transferred to the external thereby negating the reason for having it, then I believe you'll have to go into BIOS and delineate hard Drive boot order (separate from the regular boot order in BIOS). Then the PC will go to the internal first.

Also, since you have made a bootable HDD the PC should be booting from it regardless, so possibly the clone is bad. May want to reformat and reclone.
__________________

Merc is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to the BIOS on startup, and change the boot order so that your main hard drive is set to boot first
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 04:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default

ewwo
stephenlogicmad is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stephenlogicmad
ewwo
ummm.... what?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

you know. ewwo
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.