Cleaning Ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2004, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default Cleaning Ram?

I heard that you can clear your RAM and erase it to be like new, so files will open faster. If this is true how do you do it, and can it effect your systems prefomence in a negitive way?

truarabplaer is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371

System Mechanic has a defag ram feature and a recover ram feature. It also shows how much you are using. I run this before I start a game and it definetly helps.

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

u cannot clean ur ram.. u can only free up space while ur comp is running. ur ram will be emptied on shutdown.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Yeah, RAM is just space. RAM is temporary memory, when your using an application or playing a game the data gets stored in your RAM for a very short period of time. Its the space of presently used data.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to FabianJ

*coughs* I polish the sticks once every 3 months .... but thats all the "cleaning" they get :-D
FabianJ is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268

Your RAM refrsh rate should be several hundred times a second, so in effect it gets cleaned as you go.

If you mean can you fix corrupted RAM, then if a soft corrupt (ie a 0 becomming a 1 or visa versa) then just reboot or wait a fraction of a second for your system to notice and crash, if its a hard corrupt then bin the RAM.

Or butter it, have a tasty and healthy snack.... Mmmmm RAMmy goodness.

jono199 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.