cdrom troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default cdrom troubles

I recently reformated and my d drive is not working.
My E drive is working fine.It is a rewrite.
My D drive is showing system file fat.
It will not read anything that is put into it.
__________________

mawells is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

If the D drive is a CDROM drive & its showing file system FAT, it looks like the CDROM is being mistaken for a fixed disk.
Check that it is being recognised correctly in the Bios. Then look in device manager to see if CDROM drive is correctly identified in there as well.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Can you tell me what to look for in Bios?
I disconnected the cdrom and then reconnected it and it only changed the drive letter. It is still showing file system fat.
It is showing up under cdrom in device manager.

May try disconnecting it again and leaving the puter off and unplugged longer.

Tried that and it is back to showing it as d . It is still showing file system FAT.
mawells is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Somewhere in the Bios, all the drives will be listed (i.e name, size, parameters, translation - such as LBA etc). Look for the CDROM drive & let us know what the settings are for it.

However, starting to think that may not be the problem.
Can you tell me, when you reformatted, did you repartition the drive at all? If so, how many partitions did you have before & how many now?
Also, what OS are you using?

Another thing to try :
create a boot disk that loads CDROM driver in DOS (e.g win98 boot disk is ideal). Boot the system from this, let it load the mscdex driver for the CDROM, then insert a CD & try to read it in DOS.
(Use the dir d: command assuming that DOS assigns drive letter D to the CD)
Samm is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Yes I did have to repartition the hard drive.
I have no idea how many it had or has now.
I ran fdisk and it is showing 1 in dos
I ran the boot disk and I tried doing dir d:
and it wouldn' t read it.
I tried e and f but got nothing.

I am running win98se

We will be getting dsl installed on Monday and was hoping to get this issue resolved before then.

I will be losing internet access tomorrow night[2-4-05] until I get the dsl installed on Monday night.
mawells is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

As you will know, when you boot from a boot disk that was created in win98, using <add/remove programs><startup disk>, as it loads, it gives you option to load CDROM driver.

It then proceeds to locate the CDROM & install the drivers (mscdex & usually oakcdrom.sys)
Depending on whether it successfully detected the CDROM, you will either get a message saying that no CDROM device could be found or if successful, it will report the drive letter assigned to the CD.

Which of these two messages did you get when you used the boot disk?
Samm is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

It booted to my cd/rw instead of my old cdrom drive.
That is how I installed windows was with it.
I didn't see it say a letter.
mawells is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

If both drives are attached, the boot disk should load drivers for both of them & report the respectives drive letters. Watch carefully as it loads to see it.

(remember though that win98 boot disk will normally load a ram drive as well which will probably be assigned letter D so CD drives should be E & F)

Failing that, disconnect the CDRW from the system & boot from boot disk with just the old CDROM attached.

Don't forget to make sure theres a CD (preferably an original not a burnt copy) in the drive before trying the dir command!
Samm is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 09:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I tried and it didn't help.
I was able to read the dir on the cdrom and it looks like similar to the hard drive before you had anything to it.
It would not read from any cd's.

Still trying to explain to my family why I can not burn a copy of anything for them.
mawells is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 06:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

What happens if you remove the CD ROM & put the CDRW in it's place? i.e same connector on IDE cable & same jumper configuration.
If that works then it might be that your CDROM is worn out.

If you can only get the CDRW to work, you can still copy CDs without using CDROM, by dumping the CD Image to the Hard drive then burning it back to the writer.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.