Can't install windows or boot from SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2005, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default Can't install windows or boot from SATA

I have recently bought a new mb (Abit AV8 K8T800Pro) and AMD 64 3200 Winchester and a Seagate 200gb 7200 Sata HD. I already had two EIDE drives on which one of them was Windows. Each Drive was in two partitions.

I have plugged in all the drives (EIDE master & slave on EIDE port 0, and the SATA in port 1).

When I boot into windows on the EIDE drive. The new SATA drive is located in windows and is fully working and accessible with storing and reading enabled.

I installed partition magic on my EIDE drive and have tried various ways of copying my old partition with windows onto my SATA drive and put partitions onf various sizes in various locations on the SATA drive. The drive will not boot into Windows. It is recognised in the POST and I have no error messages, but when I try to install windows the drive does not show up. I have tried pressing F6 and using the SATA install disk that came with the motherboard but this doesn't work either.

I am proper pulling my hair out now so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Keluchi is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 05:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

First off, what is the boot order of the drives in the cmos?

Next, unplg all the drives EXCEPT the SATA until you get your SATA up and running with windows on it. Once you do that, then plug the IDE's back in.

You have to be sure and get the F6 pressed OR if you are running windows xp you can do a slipstramed disk with windows xp/sp2 and it will ask for the F6 key later than right at the beginning, you can hit the F6 key but hit it again. I did it this way and it worked. Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

The boot order of the drives has been changed a few times between the EIDE drives and the SATA controller (there is an option in the bios to select whether the bootable drive is the onboard mb controllor or a PCI ocntroller - I obviously select the onboard having no PCI).

When the SATA is first, I get no boot from the hard drives at all, goes immediately to the CDROM startup (ie - wondows setup). I tried unplugging the EIDE's but not installing with just it plugged in - will try that.

I think that I have a mag with directions hoe to slipstream togather svpk2 & windows disk so i'll give that a go.

I am interested though, why will a slipstreamed disk pick up my SATA disk (as you say Southernlady) and not the original XP windows disk?

P.S. I'm at work and have no net access at home so any other ideas just in case this doesn't work will be appreciated!


Cheers
Keluchi is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Did you try installing the SATA drivers before copying Windows to the SATA drive?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

To*The Major*,

I presume you are referring to the press F6 and then press to select. b;lah de blah.

There were then four options, three were intel things and the other was silicon based Via which seemed to apply alot more to my mb which is skt939.

Unless there is another route of SATA installation before that, then yes.
Keluchi is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Keluchi, Before you leave work, take a look at this thread and the two articles I mention in MY first post to the thread.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=26483

IF you follow the method given in the post *I* mention, it's easy enough, I've done the slipstream method several times now. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Oh, and the boot order in the cmos I'm talking about, isn't the boot order for the for the boot of the windows but the boot oder of the hard drives themselves. They have a boot order as well. I don't know what motherboard you have but on an MSI it's under Advanced Bios Sequence, then Boot Sequence, which opens up a second window on the right side.Then you get a chance to see where the boot order is for the hard drives are. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 06:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I'll give all this a go tonight and mail back in the morning..

Cheers!

I'll be on this thread for the rest of the day if there is anyhting forgotten / missed out.
Keluchi is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 05:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Hello
I've tried all those tips and still no success

I succesfully made a slipstreamed disk but this also did not pick up my SATA hard disk to install and so will not boot.

Is there anything else that anyone / Southernlady can suggest.

If not I think I'l go and buy a small (40gbish) 7200RPM EIDE hard drive to run windows off. I'll still keep the programs on the new SATA disk so it won't run too slow.

Shame though.....

Keluchi is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 05:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

You need to configure it as either RAID 0 or RAID 1. Instruction is normally shown up in the screen during POST. If the mobo accepts SATA as a single then it will report as such at every POST. Thus I think it paid to check it out.

If the SATA is reported correctly by the BIOS thereafter you repeat what you have done before and XP will be bootable.

XP needs the SATA drivers up front or else it could not recognise it at all.

Quote:
This RAID Tutorial describes at least 9 levels of RAID system.

I think you may need RAID 1 to work the SATA as a single (mirror mode so that the second disk if attached duplicate everything the first does).

I have mentioned caution on RAID. Your RAID 0 is in striped mode where you request your files to be halved so as to be shared by two disks. Thus you can cutdown the hard disk access time by half and speed up its performance (twice as fast theoretically). Depending on the RAID drivers you may have difficulty to persuade your board to support a single SATA if it was never designed for such an event.
And this was written by a technician friend of mine when I was trying to help another get his SATA drive working, his was a SOLO SATA not a combination tho.

Quote:
THIS IS A HARDWARE problem; installing the SATA drivers with the F6 key as WinXP loads is all fine and good, but you HAVE to correct the CMOS settings in order to be able to BOOT from the SATA drive.

You CAN'T use EITHER of the RAID SETTINGS; you're ONLY using the one SATA HARD DRIVE, so RAID is NOT an option, though you probably know that. Any RAID array requires at LEAST two drives, and I understand that you want to move your original IDE drive to another system. That should NOT be a problem, once you get the CMOS settings to BOOT from the SATA drive.

FWIW, when PCI RAID and ULTRA ATA (high-speed) PCI controller cards first became cheap and widely available about four years ago, many people could NOT get them to work, because they did NOT understand how to configure them in the CMOS settings. Many motherboards did NOT have a setting dedicated to booting from those add-in cards, because the BIOS was developed BEFORE the add-in cards were so plentiful.

The engineers who developed the add-in cards needed a way to make their new cards work with the motherboards already in use worldwide; in order to do THAT, they knew that they had to make the add-in controller cards work with a CMOS setting that was ALREADY available in most of the modern BIOS chips, and they decided to use the "SCSI BOOT" option to accomplish that.

Their solution was simple, though it seemed BIZARRE at first; in order to get the add-in controller card to work as a boot device, they programmed the BIOS chips which would be installed on the add-in cards to LIE to the motherboard BIOS chip! The BIOS chip on the card FOOLS the motherboard BIOS chip by identifying itself as a SCSI device. When that happens, the motherboard BIOS does NOT try to boot from any IDE devices that are attached to the motherboard. Instead, it allows the add-in card to handle the bootup process, and goes to work handling the floppy disk, the modem, and anything else it can locate.

All the computer builder had to do was to install the add-in card in a PCI slot, and then enable the "SCSI BOOT" option in the CMOS settings; the add-in card BIOS would trick the motherboard BIOS by identifying itself as a SCSI device during POST, and the motherboard BIOS would stop looking for a boot device. The add-in card BIOS would then take control of the devices attached to it, and boot the system when it found an IDE device which contained an operating system. Once boot up begins, the add-in card BIOS signals the motherboard BIOS that it can now activate the other hardware in the system. The motherboard BIOS then continues polling to see if there is a modem installed, or a printer attached to the parallel port, and so on.

For the end-user, this all meant that you ALSO had to enable a CMOS setting that allowed a SCSI device to boot the system. As I've already mentioned, when that setting was ENABLED, the MOTHERBOARD BIOS handed off control to the add-in controller card; the motherboard BIOS is designed to allow ANY device enabled through the "SCSI BOOT" option to have control of the boot process, once the "SCSI BOOT" option was initialized by the motherboard BIOS.

Think about that for a moment; the motherboard BIOS does not "KNOW", and does not CARE, if a NON-SCSI device takes control; how would the motherboard BIOS "know" if an ELEPHANT was attached to the add-in card? It WOULDN'T "know", it wouldn't CARE, it is only a ROM chip, and if the CMOS setting requires the "SCSI BOOT" option to be enabled, it WILL be enabled; whatever happens to the boot device AFTER that is NOT handled by the MOTHERBOARD BIOS. All OTHER devices (the CD-ROM drive, the floppy drive, etc.) WILL be handled by the motherboard BIOS, but the BOOT DEVICE, whatever it may be, is handled by the "SCSI" device in the PCI slot, whether it is actually a REAL SCSI device or something else entirely. The motherboard BIOS simply activates the "SCSI BOOT" option by way of the CMOS settings, and the BIOS chip attached to the ADD-IN card takes over control of the boot device.

What that means is that you have to locate the CMOS setting that will allow you to boot from the SATA drive. Since I have no way to see the manual for your motherboard, I can't SPECIFICALLY advise you on which setting to change, but it will OBVIOUSLY be related to the BOOT DEVICES. SOMEWHERE in there, you SHOULD see an option that allows booting from a SATA drive, or it might be marked as a "SATA / RAID BOOT DEVICE" or "RAID / SATA BOOT DEVICE", or by some OTHER label entirely, but UNTIL you find and ENABLE it, you WON'T be able to BOOT from the SATA drive, and WinXP will FAIL to install the first time it reboots during the installation process, since the SATA drive is NOT (yet) considered a boot device by the motherboard BIOS. HOWEVER, once you find the right CMOS setting and change it to ENABLE booting from the SATA drive, everything will work as you expect it to.

Well, what do you know, ANOTHER highly detailed post from me, but one that I feel is required to (hopefully) UNDO the damage I've caused in this thread, simply because I did NOT take the time to give Liz a COMLETE answer when I had the opportunity. To be honest here, I've actually SIMPLIFIED the explanation of how this entire process occurs, but with any luck, you now know all you need to know to understand what happens, and how you can MODIFY your CMOS settings to make your SATA drive the boot device.
Look at what I've given you here and see if any of this helps. Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.