Can not start desktop??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Angry Can not start desktop???

For about two weeks, my desktop (2.8ghz P4 and about 10 months old) has had problems with spontaneous shutdowns for no reason, occasional will not starts, and also the monitor going black with no apparent cutoff of CPU at times (have to reboot to get back up). Until about three weeks ago one fan in the system (not sure which) was particularly noisy for a few days, but a good dose of canned air seemed to have eliminated that problem. I have noticed that on the occasions when the system would not boot, that the CPU and motherboard (Abit IC7-G) fans would not rotate even though the lights come on (with no beep) as if to start up, and then failing. I turned off the power supply and rechecked all the connections were solid, and then the system would start up (maybe) and the fans were rotating. Last night the system cutoff while preparing to burn a DVD, and I have not been able to restart. The fans are both dead mentioned earlier, although the case fan and power supply fan are both still working. My power supply is an Antec True 380 (380 watt), and I have only one burner, a floppy drive, 120 gb HD, 1 gig of RAM, and use flash drives often. 90% of my work with the system is editing photos, and I do downloads direct from a digital SLR nearly every day. The light on the motherboard still glows as if power is getting to the LED. Does this sound like a power supply failure? When PSU's fail, do they still offer enough juice to the system to light up, but not start? I'm still sort of a newbie at the tech end, so be gentle please! Thanks!
__________________

clickhiker is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Yeah, it is possible for a PSU to do that. Are you able to check the PSU's output voltages with a multimeter?
Also, are you sure the CPU isn't overheating instead?
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I'd say a video card problem with the monitor going black, as for the shutdowns it seems to be your CPU overheating. With the new CPU's, when it overheats, it auto shuts down to avoid being burned to a crisp.
Greenleaves is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.