built new system, but not working? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2004, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Question built new system, but not working?

Hi, i have just put some money into upgrading my pc (or basicly making a whole new pc) on my own. This is my first time building a whole new pc for myself, i usually just gradually replace the parts as i need them, although i have never encountered the problem as follows.

I have purchesed these items and fitted them with all the precautions.
A Gigabyte GA8S655fX-L (socket 478) motherboard
512mb DDR PC3200 400MHz Ram
Intel P4 2.8ghz socket 478 processor
Gigabyte PCU21-VG 3D-Cooler Pro (with cpu paste)
and a basic (but brand new) 500 watt psu.which i bought afterwards

I have left the following items:
256mb graffix card
40 gb maxtor hard drive
Floppy drive , CD drive

The first time round i fitted al the items making sure i missed nothing.
Conected all the wires properly and then conected it to the power. When i switched it on however, all that happend was the led's lit up, and the fans turned on, the hard-drive dident start up neither did the moniter. I heard no startup beeps from the sytem speaker. I them reset the bios by taking out the battrey on the motherboard for a few mins, then tryed again, still no hope. I then took out the whol emotherboard and evry thing that is needed for it to start up, and assemled it onto an anti-static surface and tryed again. still no hope, i then tryed replacing the ram with anouther stick of the exact type, changed the grafix card. I also bought a 500 watt psu as at the time i only had a 300watt. All this did nuthing. After that i sent away the processor for a new one, fitted it into the same motherboard(with the paste) and tryed to startup again with no sucess. I then came to the conclusion that it had to be the motherboard and sent it away for a replacement, i got the replacement and fitted it to the case with the processor adn evrything else all with the same anti-static precautions. I still have the same problem even though i have replaced almost evrything.
I am realy stuck on this one and maybe anyone out there has had the same problem and knows the solution. Any help would be very much apreciated, thanks.

Ross1990 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

What kind of Hard Drive do you have??

Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Im pretty sure your mobo only supports DDR SDRAM. If its full name is

Gigabyte GA-8S655FX-L - mainboard - ATX - SiS655FX
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8

Answerd this in another part of the forum who also having same problems check your psu connections just because there all fitted to hard drive and and what ever else you have in pc does not mean to say the connections will work propaly try another way of connecting the leads,i,e swap your floppy cable connector for another lead like some psu have 2 connecters for floppys just try differant ways if this not work sounds to me you popped your procceser take out and check middle see any burn marks if there is ooops get a new one.
One last thing to check you have done the rest leads and power on leads corectly?i know silly question but the most simplist things can be missed good luck anyway.
Adja is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441

I have built approx 20 to 30 custom PCs and fixed many others and this problem is not uncommon but could be caused by a number of things.

First things first, check the compatibily of all the hardware in the mobo manual or from the mobo manufacturers website. Make sure especially that the CPU, RAM & graphics card are supported.

Double check any jumper or dip switch settings on the mobo.

Next, strip the system down to minimum, i.e. mobo, cpu + heatsink etc, RAM, graphics card & PSU. Do not add the hard drive/floppy/CDROM (or their cables) or any other cards.

Clear BIOS. Connect monitor & keyboard and try to boot the system again.
If still no joy, reseat the graphics card. AGP cards are notoriously twitchy at times when it comes to inserting them fully correctly.
Make sure the internal speaker connector is in the correct position.
If possible, try a different graphics card.

If the system does boot up, add the rest of the hardware back in one bit at a time.
Good luck
Samm is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 05:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1

check your hardrive,or try to start up your pc with minimum hardware?

cyberdoc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.