Building new comp for games..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Cool Building new comp for games.....

Hey!
I've got $1700 and I'm trying to build a good gaming set up that would last me at least 2 years, but I’m not sure which parts would do the best job for the money

I've got two good friends that know a lot about hardware, but when I ask em, they tell me completely opposite things!!

Graphic card for instance, one sais it's essential to have a 256MB, other sais that 128MB will do exactly the same job for lower price...???? And serial and non serial hard drive, does it realy matter for games??? Or i'm just getting ripped off!!??

What i know that i need is a very good power sup, quiet too (cos on my previous comp it short sercuited the whole bloody thing), quiet Hd drive( I heard the seagate makes em quiet)
Anyway if any1 could tell me the trueth and advise me on some parts, it would be great!!!! thanx!
__________________

realillusion is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Hey give me a few minutes i will make up a system using newegg.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default Re: Building new comp for games.....

Quote:
Originally posted by realillusion
Hey!
I've got $1700 and I'm trying to build a good gaming set up that would last me at least 2 years, but I’m not sure which parts would do the best job for the money

I've got two good friends that know a lot about hardware, but when I ask em, they tell me completely opposite things!!

Graphic card for instance, one sais it's essential to have a 256MB, other sais that 128MB will do exactly the same job for lower price...????

--128mb or 256 is fine it depends on the actual preformance of the card itself

And serial and non serial hard drive, does it realy matter for games??? Or i'm just getting ripped off!!??

--Serial Ata is the way to go now they don't cost much more than pata drives and the cables give better air flow

What i know that i need is a very good power sup, quiet too (cos on my previous comp it short sercuited the whole bloody thing), quiet Hd drive( I heard the seagate makes em quiet)

--Yes you will need a pretty strong psu , also seagates are reliable and pretty quite.

Anyway if any1 could tell me the trueth and advise me on some parts, it would be great!!!! thanx!

--I Have made up a pc from newegg.com below

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache, Socket 939 64-bit Processor - Retail $215.00 http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-502&depa=0

M
ASUS "A8N-SLI Deluxe" nForce4 SLI Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL L $269.00 http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-517&depa=1


Seagate 160GB Barracuda 7200.7 7200RPM SATA II with NCQ Hard Drive, Model ST3160827AS, OEM (limit 20 per customer) $111.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...148-034&depa=1


OCZ ModStream 520W Power Supply with OCZ EZMod technology, SATA Connector, Model "OCZ52012U" -RETAIL $120.00
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-155&depa=1

OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 Dual Channel Kit 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail $266.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-890&depa=1


XFX nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, Dual DVI/TV-Out, PCI-E, Model "PVT45GUD" -RETAIL $495.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...150-081&depa=1

Total $1478
I dunno if you need a case, screen , keyboard and mouse.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 08:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Why does he need a SLI board if his only getting one 6800GT PCI-E.
I would suggest you get a MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=241158
Should save you a bit more money for other things.

But you could get that board and get another 6800GT later when you have the money its your choice.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 04:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

thats the video card i have it is excelent btw
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 05:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Yo Charbo your going to have to fix that sig,the size limit's are 468x120.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

ok
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 05:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Not my rule's,sorry buddy
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 07:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default

cheers guys!!!!
Thanx 4 help, i'll be looking 4 sugested parts.

at least i know it's good
realillusion is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You cannot go wrong with a 6600GT or a 6800GT \ Vanilla

However the asus ones only have 128 ram, this is a bottleneck.

If your going to use the SLI board, use 2 6600GT's in PCI-E

If you want to save, get the Asus A8V (same motherboard as the SLI except only handles one card, and a few other things). Get a single 6800GT with this

The Asus A8V SLI is also buggy, expensive and hard to find
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

« Ram | Usb Hardkey »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.