BIOS Failure? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Tips, Tricks and FAQ
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2004, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default BIOS Failure?

I just recently flashed my BIOS for an ASUS A8V Deluxe motherboard and I have run into some serious problems. I boot up my system now and everything turns on except the monitor. I can't see anything so I don't know what's going on and I'm not entirely sure that although everything is technically working there is anthing going on. I don't know if it's b ecause I flashed the BIOS but when I did that it gave me the message "checksum bad" and prompted me to either load the default values (which I did not) or enter Setup. I tried to switch some of fhe BIOS settings around after entering Setup but when it rebooted after saving the changes the screen would not show anything. Can anybody please tell me what to do?

zeezok is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8

Pretty simple this when you recieved the error checksum you SHLOULD NOT of flashed it,you have flashed it with wrong bios sadly,there isnt alot you can do im afraid except there may be one hope.Register here and ask timod to make you a boot up floppy bios which will auto flash your pc on boot up (thats if it reads your floppy first)this is your only hope and good luck other wise take your motherboard back and say it not working :P

Adja is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11

I think my BIOS got messed up.
I was installing a Video Card. The Monitor can't detect the computer.
My computer also didn't come with a floppy disc.
So what do I do?
And423Rew is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8

Sorry mate but not alot you can do with out floppy as this is the only way to reflash your bios automatically with out the floppy your motherboard is has good as dead.....
Adja is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 284

no u can download the floppy somewhere else, like at your motherboards site
comrad is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

I always got a checksum error when booting without a battery.

Did you try clearing/resettings your BIOS?

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.