• McAfee

Votes: 4 5.7%
  • BitDefender

Votes: 4 5.7%
  • Kaspersky

Votes: 7 10.0%

• Total voters
Re: Tech-Forums Top Rated Antivirus 2010

Avg is like going ****. At every starting of pc, it satarts too and it is hard to make it disabled.

I am a PC tech at a small company, and I have moved almost exclusively into the anti-malware, network monitoring, and general security realm altogether. I cannot believe the spike in malware activity AND the constantly-improving tactics and techniques used by the "bad guys".

In my personal opinion one single antivirus product cannot cut the mustard. I have been most successful with using a combination of the following: Bitdefender 2010 (I feel it is important to have an advanced firewall monitoring feature) or Kaspersky, staying on top of Microsoft's latest patches, SysInternals Suite, and a handful of free anti-rootkit and anti-malware apps available online (combofix, UnHackMe, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Helios Lite, GMER, etc.) Also, a good Host Intrusion Detection System is useful as well (OSSEC comes to mind).

I do suggest using as many tools as possible because of the necessity of cross-referencing results. One product might pick up on something that another product missed altogether.

Although, Norton, Eset, AVG, and the like are all very common, very popular choices, I feel that they do not come close to something like Bitdefender, Kaspersky, or even the free A2 Squared. Mind you, this is only my opinion :) Though I understand that Symantec/Norton has greatly improved this year in detection rates and even surpassed Bitdefender in areas (Bitdefender is slow, but I have been happy with the detection rates). Kaspersky was my favorite before I learned about and started using Bitdefender for my clients.

In the end, I have been most satisfied living in two worlds: the Windows / Linux dualboot solution!

Anyone else feel the same?