Pop-ups in mozilla firefox - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > Viruses, Spyware and Malware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jordant
Unhappy Pop-ups in mozilla firefox

hello. im getting these really annoying pop ups in mozilla, and i know they arent from the net because they are the same ones every time. i ran ad aware and another antivirus program called antivir personal. they still pop up all the time and are very annoying. please help me. thanks to anyone who helps me, its muchly appreciated.

thanks,
Jordan
__________________

jordant is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Ad aware may not detect whatever spyware you may have, I suggest you run other freeware spyware detector. Do a google for "Free spyware program" download these freeware and do a good scan. Get at least 2 or 3.

I have 3 spyware program on my system, ad-ware, spybot and spysweeper. They are all great, but each have their own advantages and disadvantages. Some detect certain thing while some won't. Sometime the company don't release detection signature out early enough.

If you know what is on your system, post it here or do a google search for information on how to manually remove it. It's good to know what it is so you could completely get rid of it.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

maybe dont you have popup blocking enabled in firefox , goto tools-->options get into the "content" tab and see if the first box is ticked if not then tick it and click ok , also maybe your talking on messenger service popups like this one?

if you are then goto start-->run-->service.msc locate "messenger" and double click it and click "stop" and set "startup type" to "disabled" and click ok
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jordant
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
maybe dont you have popup blocking enabled in firefox , goto tools-->options get into the "content" tab and see if the first box is ticked if not then tick it and click ok , also maybe your talking on messenger service popups like this one?

if you are then goto start-->run-->service.msc locate "messenger" and double click it and click "stop" and set "startup type" to "disabled" and click ok
my popup blocker is on, ive checked that.
and those are the type of popups i get.
i ran service.msc and nothing came up.
could you go a little more in depth on what to do, im sorta computer dumb

thanks,
Jordan
jordant is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

my bad i forgot one letter , its services.msc
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jordant
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Ad aware may not detect whatever spyware you may have, I suggest you run other freeware spyware detector. Do a google for "Free spyware program" download these freeware and do a good scan. Get at least 2 or 3.

I have 3 spyware program on my system, ad-ware, spybot and spysweeper. They are all great, but each have their own advantages and disadvantages. Some detect certain thing while some won't. Sometime the company don't release detection signature out early enough.

If you know what is on your system, post it here or do a google search for information on how to manually remove it. It's good to know what it is so you could completely get rid of it.
thanks, im downloading spybot and spysweeper right now. if it works ill tell you
thanks alot,
Jordan
jordant is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jordant
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
my bad i forgot one letter , its services.msc
i just did that and it was already set to disabled

Jordan
jordant is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you cant possibly recieve messenger service popups if you got it disabled, are you sure they are messenger type popups? take a screenshot , could be just some adware. download hijackthis
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html
click "do a system scan and save a logfile" open a new thread at this section http://www.techist.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=126 and copy & paste it
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.