Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > Viruses, Spyware and Malware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2017, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 161
Default Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

I installed a trial version of Malwarebytes on a computer just for the purpose of scanning with it. I do that a lot of times, and always make sure to remove it from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run

However whenever I restart the PC, is comes right back to the Run key and starts with Windows.

I checked under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Run. There is nothing. And msconfig says it's in HKLM, not HKCU.
__________________

aimo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,267
Default Re: Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

You didn't mention if you uninstall MBAM before deleting the reg key or not.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 09:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 161
Default Re: Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

I don't delete the the registry key as there other entries under it. I just delete the MBAM entry. And the entry doesn't exist before you install the program.
aimo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 09:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,267
Default Re: Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

Ok, I'll rephrase.

You didn't mention if you uninstall MBAM before deleting the MBAM entry or not.

In other words, are you removing MBAM or is it still installed?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 161
Default Re: Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

Oh, I should have been clearer.

I don't uninstall it from any machine. I just make sure it doesn't run at start up. I don't seem to be able to do that now.
aimo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,267
Default Re: Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

Is there not a setting in MBAM that allows you to not set it in startup?

If Win7/8: Checked msconfig -> Startup tab ?
if Win10: Checked Task Manager -> Startup tab ?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 12:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 161
Default Re: Malwarebytes keeps coming up in registry

There doesn't seem to be an option in version 3. And I always prefer doing thing right from where they are. Like if the start up is in the registry, I do it from the registry. If in the start up folder, I do it from there.

Now as I touched this f***ing msconfig, somehow I cannot revert it back. and somehow now I have 2 entries under the startup folder for MBAM, one selected and the other is clear. And MBAM still starts with Windows.
__________________

aimo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forensic Windows Registry Software Registry Report Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-14-2009 07:11 AM
What would prevent malwarebytes from opening? Jayce Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 02-16-2009 09:21 PM
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 12-08-2007 09:08 AM
CCleaner/Registry Cleaners and registry problems leonardmp92 Microsoft Windows and Software 14 03-09-2006 11:59 PM
Yet another exploit, they keep coming and coming like IE Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 7 05-10-2005 12:09 AM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.