Fdos-boxer on file called cvmss.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > Viruses, Spyware and Malware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2005, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Fdos-boxer on file called cvmss.exe

Got this virus named Fdos-boxer, a flooder classified by Mcafee). this virus is located in windows\system32\cvmss.exe

Norton has no info of this virus, only Mcafee has but there is no removal tool. It just says you have to get the latest update from Mcafee (which I did) but after scanning with the latest update, it is identified but it cannot be cleaned nor quarantined.

So, any suggestions on how to remove the virus?

Also, what is cvmss.exe ?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

hi Harper

Go to this site
http://virusscan.jotti.org/

and upload the file

then find the file and delete

find that file and delete it if it wont delete try it in safe mode

Let me know how it goes

Lobos
__________________

__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Interesting. Is this site some sort of virus removal site?
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

no it will analyze a single file with 12 different scanners you may find another antivirus company might call it something else

but either way I would delete the file
__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.