Do I Have To Update McAfee Virus Scan Plus? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > Viruses, Spyware and Malware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2009, 07:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MidAtlantic
Posts: 9
Question Do I Have To Update McAfee Virus Scan Plus?

I purchased this software directly from the McAfee site as a download in November of 2008, so the subscription is valid until November 19, 2009. I work from home, and due to some recent problems, the company asked me to run a full scan. Nothing unusual was revealed. However, after the scan, McAfee now indicates that my computer is not fully protected. Specifically, identity and spam protection are not installed. (Computer and files are said to be fully protected.) When I click on "Fix," I get "One or more problems require your response." The page also provides links to "Get Full Protection" and "Ignore." The former takes me to the McAfee site, which features Virus Scan Plus and Security Suite available for purchase.

Since the current subscription is valid, I don't want to purchase them. How can I activate these protections without spending more money? FWIW, I do have a McAfee account.

Thanks very much!
__________________

ThriceLabs is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Do I Have To Update McAfee Virus Scan Plus?

Do you habve the Full suite?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MidAtlantic
Posts: 9
Default Re: Do I Have To Update McAfee Virus Scan Plus?

Thanks for the reply. Yes, I do, but now the company has told me to remove McAfee, and install AVG. They, apparently, have had very good luck with it. Thanks, again.
ThriceLabs is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Do I Have To Update McAfee Virus Scan Plus?

I agree with them
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 05:51 PM
A sneaky, and annoying virus donaldj HijackThis Logs (finished) 25 06-16-2008 07:58 PM
Window Vista not compatible Mcafee virus scan freezy Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-07-2007 07:57 AM
Virus cannot be removed xpedient Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-27-2007 05:01 AM
Hijack this log - have problem with worm! rimrh HijackThis Logs (finished) 9 06-10-2007 10:06 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.