AVG 8 Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > Viruses, Spyware and Malware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2008, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default AVG 8 Issues

AVG 8 Issues

I started using AVG at version 7.5, liked everything but itís update process. When you was in the middle of doing something and AVG decided to update, the update process would appear and then when it was finished, you needed to click OK or wait for it to count down. With AVG 8 that is no more. BUTÖ. now I have and so do many other people have update issues. I was using AVG 7.5 Network Edition as I said and did an upgrade to version 8 with a Sept build of 138 which is a paid version.
Below is a screenshot of the Free Version AVG 8 build 8.0.175 on my desktop.
Look at the Update Manager. Does this look familiar? This stays the same no matter how many times I update, reboot, etc. Advanced Settings are set to default which is correct. Reboot to complete the update process is not selected.

Read the rest of the story below

http://tech-dump.com/?p=147
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: AVG 8 Issues

I am not a fan of AVG 8. I nuked it and went with Avast. AVG 8 seemed to be a resource hog and slowed down my boot-up time considerably.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: AVG 8 Issues

Been getting the same problem too. I think I might jump the AVG ship and move to Avast.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVG Virus Scanner Accidentally Removes Critical Windows Component Wildside Polls 13 11-19-2008 04:40 PM
AVG slaps Trojan label on Adobe Flash Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 19 11-16-2008 12:09 AM
AVG slaps Trojan label on core Windows file Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 11-11-2008 08:06 AM
AVG scanner blasts internet with fake traffic Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 07-03-2008 08:22 AM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.