Wiki-browser

ThePseudoFuturist

Beta member
**The following is a somewhat vague idea that I have. I'm not a technology expert, but I'm pretty sure, from the little that I do know, that the technology described below is possible. I may use some of the jargon incorrectly, or betray some ignorance on the mechanics of it, but I thought that I might as well get this idea out there. I think that some some form of the following technology will appear some time in the future. If you find this idea interesting, please disseminate it, whether in conversation or by the sharing of this blog-post. I offer up this idea for anyone to develop. Best, Joe C. Oh, by the way, this is poorly and quickly written**

Imagine a browser that pulls from and displays the contents of two sources each time you open a web page, the html code from the website and another code containing content created by visitors of the website stored on a server controlled by the browser company itself, call this a wiki-server. To illustrate, let's say that you open up a web-page which is a biography of Bill Clinton. If you were using the Wiki-browser, you could make certain marks on the page. Let's say you open a paint tool and draw a mustache on Bill Clinton's upper lip. If you click save edits, your computer sends off the following to a wiki-server with the following content: 1) the url, (2) the user-name of the editor, (3) the date of the edit, (4) the description of the edit (5) category of edit. For example, the following would be sent out after saving the mustache (www.clinton.com/bio.html; mustachemaker432; 11/7/2012; description of line paths, widths, color, style (5) unrestricted).

When another user opens up the page www.clinton.com/bio.html using the browser with the setting "Show All Edits," The browser would display the source code for the webpage and display all of the edits made the page of which it had received descriptions from a wiki-server. In short, this user would see the mustache.