Setting up a proxy help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2009, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default Setting up a proxy help

Hey

I moved to canada recently. I want to watch UK tv and radio from my laptop, streaming.

Websites don't let users from abroad connect, so i want to trick it, by routing through my father's computer.

I am told he needs to install some software. His computer then acts as a routing server

Can anyone shed any light - software etc?

Thanks
__________________

dodgyman_00 is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,783
Default Re: Setting up a proxy help

Alternatively you could find a British proxy server and use that.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: Setting up a proxy help

well he's in the uk so thats what that would be

are there free proxies available that others have set up that are safe?
dodgyman_00 is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,327
Default Re: Setting up a proxy help

Sounds like you are looking for a VPN. Try googling it to see if that's it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 11-28-2009, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: Setting up a proxy help

looks like thats it. any good guides around?
dodgyman_00 is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Setting up a proxy help

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgyman_00 View Post
looks like thats it. any good guides around?
WindowsXP VPN Server

WindowsXP VPN Client
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giveaway of the Day - Proxy Voyager Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-28-2009 08:15 AM
Proxy Server Usage To Extend Jailtime In The US Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 0 04-15-2009 03:36 PM
Setting up proxy. bigsigs Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 02-02-2009 11:01 AM
Running a Proxy over a routered Network techhero569 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 11-19-2008 10:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.