My router got hacked.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 05:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,494
Default Re: My router got hacked....

The router should have a reset button on it that will reseet it to factory defaults. Use it and then reconfigure it.
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 07:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: My router got hacked....

Yup, power up, hold it in for a good 10 secs, all the lights should flash, and then reconfigure it, access via the default username and password
Use google to find these out if your not sure
__________________

__________________
Yek is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 12:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Re: My router got hacked....

if you're feeling adventerous and have the right router, you could flash it with dd-wrt.
__________________
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 12:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: My router got hacked....

so why did you reinstall your os??
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 10:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My router got hacked....

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
so why did you reinstall your os??
the guy used my system to smurf the router... but the stupid hacker SOB got evicted... heh... anyways... its all good but thanks for the help.. Topic closed
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
router boosts bandwidth, why? jakegday Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 08-07-2007 08:43 AM
Boosting range of wireless router with a second unit. Jlagreca Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-16-2007 06:17 PM
D-Link Router problem Zobie Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-27-2007 04:55 PM
Wireless Router Help davyo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 04-05-2007 09:20 AM
2 Router setup...possible? BoysNightOut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 03-31-2007 06:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.