Improving internet speed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2009, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default Improving internet speed?

I get my internet connection via satellite dish...and I was wondering is their anyway for me to improve the speed or even check the speed of my connection?

I have two computers( Both are old Pentium 4s) connected through a hub..neither of them are a host computer so will upgrading the hub or the computers help my connection?
__________________

__________________
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,498
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test

Not much you can do with satellite. There are a few programs that can optimize your settings. few are free, but CableNut still it. It's been around a while, but it is still a great little tweaker.
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

Is this fast? I have comcast... and I have NOT been happy with it at all.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,498
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

Your speeds suck for cable, dude. I am on a 3.0 DSL line from AT&T.



__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

I would have to agree. I am on cable. A 4MB package.





Even going across teh country to Cali i still got great speeds. Above what my package is rated for.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

WOW!!! Im calling comcast in the morning.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default Re: Improving internet speed?





What speeds are mainly used for online gameing? The download or upload rate?
__________________
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

Both. Since you have to download the position and other movements of the other players as well as upload yours while you are playing.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,979
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by braz View Post
Is this fast? I have comcast... and I have NOT been happy with it at all.
I have comcast here in PA and I get a **** lot faster connection than that....

The image in my sig on the right side is my current connection....


Also to original poster, hughes net or w/e it is called has a fair acess usage policy or something similar, in other words do NOT go over your limit or they will slow it down, but your down and up speeds are rather good for your connection type
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default Re: Improving internet speed?

I know when I downloaded an 600mb patch for a game I play....it slowed down the internet drastically
__________________

__________________
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Unstable Internet Connection.. HELP Cat_Returns Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 10-24-2008 01:54 PM
New Computer Isn't Connecting to Internet? Please Help! JDM555 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-29-2008 07:56 AM
Laptop's Internet not connecting with any programs rvardell HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 01-13-2008 11:35 AM
What is the fastest internet speed? Noak3 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 03-29-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.